We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
72
85
40
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
85
40
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion buildingsan average hotelenjoyed my staybeyond the call of dutytravel agentshort staybeautiful roomrooms are cleansouth africaout of this worldhome away from homebusinesscleanersexecutivesecuritygmaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2016

The cars on the streets are loud and as a light sleeper I struggled to fall asleep. For the first time I was asked to fill in forms when checking in. When I asked why I was told it's new management rules.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yonelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmv1968, General Manager at Premier Hotel Pretoria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear Yonelat

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. On your next visit , we are only too happy to allocate a room facing the garden. This will certianly assist you with a wonderful nights sleep.

As for documentation, unfortunately it is a legal requirement to ensure guests details are correctly filled in , and as such you will be asked to check , correct where necessary and provide information.

I fully appreciate the irritation of being a regular guest however we ask for your assistance in this regard

Yours in hospitality

SM Verdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I received an excellent service from the front desk on arrival and throughout the stay at the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and clean.

The food was also very well prepared with very hospitable staff, they know how to make one feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thandos2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmv1968, General Manager at Premier Hotel Pretoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Dear Thandos2016

Thank you for the kind words of praise, it certainly adds value to our staff and allows them the opportunity to see first hand how our training interventions become effective. We look forward to having you back in the very near future

Yours in Hospitality

Mr SM Verdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

This is a great hotel with friendly, helpful staff and good food. The pool is more decorative than for swimming in - I only saw one person in it in a week! Room very comfortable and clean. However, the area is not great for tourists - don't go out on your own, and if you do, take nothing of value with you. Uber taxis are the way to get around.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmv1968, General Manager at Premier Hotel Pretoria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Dear Jane M

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel and your recent stay at Premier Pretoria . Our chefs have worked extremely hard on the culinary journey and our guests are experiencing a little bit of Africa. We thank you for your kind words regarding your meal.

The area is in the inner city and has its pro's and cons , we appreciate that every city has crime and that we do everything to ensure your safety whilst with us , with the Union Buildings up the road it allows our guests to stroll the beautiful gardens , but one should ensure they are safe.

We look forward to your return visit

Yours in Hospitality

Mr SM Verdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Most of the staff do not know how to speak english properly. Reception staff is really slow and not efficient at all. The next 2 hours after we checked in they changed our room 3 times!! And every one has a "taxi friend" (who phones knows the driver and get a commission for the trip) to call if you want to go somewhere. Do not allow them to call a taxi that they reccomend if it is not a company. We went to Jnb with a particular taxi phoned by one of the girls of reception. Our trip took 2 HOURS AND A HALF!! The driver got lost, he did not have gps, nor a map, the car was in bad conditions. We lost all day and only went to the Apartheid Museum. We asked for a wake up call the morning we were leaving, and they forgot to phone us. Courtains of the window fell down two times, then two lamps of the bedroom broke...terrible. The restaurant is a little bit dirty and the staff do not know english language well (i phoned to ask for a fork and a plate and had to go down for myself because the lady i talked to did not know what thise things were). Also they do not know about food, i asked for a Caesar Salad and the waitress DID NOT KNOW WHAT IT WAS!!! The part of Arcadia where the Hotel is isn't big deal, not too no nice, there are better places near there.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank teofilob172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmv1968, General Manager at Premier Hotel Pretoria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Dear teofilob172

Thank you reviewing the Premier Hotel Pretoria , your recent stay and the issues you encountered . Allow me to apologise for the poor service you received and provide some feedback .
With regards the room , it is not acceptable and I have ensured maintenance have been tasked to effect the repairs. I appreciate this is after the fact , however we need to ensure we make good on the promise of the Home away from home feel.

We use an outsource provider for our transfers from the Hotel, I will certainly follow up on this as we ensure , guest safety , directions, value for money, correct insurances etc by using this process, for reception to have offered a alternative solution will require investigation.

Although our staff may have limited knowledge of other food items our chefs are always available for assistance , please should you be staying with us on your next visit, please make direct contact with myself, I will with the greatest of pleasure , ensure your room is properly allocated, that your dietary requirements are taken care of and that we serve you in the manner befitting your stay at the hotel.

Once again , kindly accept my sincere apology

Yours in Hospitality

Mr SM Verdon
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

I had the pleasure to stay in one of the suites of this beautiful boutique hotel. It felt comfortable and cozy. Conveniently enough, it was located close to the Union Buildings which is probably the main place for sightseeing in Pretoria. The drivers of the hotel well very nice, patience and willing to inform you about the surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annadS1602OS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanmv1968, General Manager at Premier Hotel Pretoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Dear annadS1602OS

Premier Pretoria is ideally located in Pretoria , a stone throw from the Union Buildings and other places of historical interest. Thank you for reviewing our beautiful hotel and its facilities and more importantly seeing the passion in our staff. From the driver , who incidentally prides himself on his local knowledge of the area to our service staff, rooms and general feel of the hotel

We look forward to having you back in the very near future

Yours in Hospitality

Mr SM Verdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews