We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
38
56
35
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
56
35
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gautrain station buffet dinner noisy location free shuttle shuttle service excellent service short stay south africa home away from home cbd bronx business facilities gym executive comfort function
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

For some reason this hotel has a lot of good reviews, and I booked a steady based on that. Unfortunately I was sorely disappointed.

Upon arrival one of only two elevators serving this large hotel was out of service, resulting in massive delays getting to/from my room.

The room was old and tired looking, with a barely functional air conditioner and an old fashioned bathroom. Water temperature in the shower was almost impossible to control, resulting in either a scalding hot or icy cold shower. No refrigerator in the room.

The dinner buffet was way overpriced and the quality of the food was terrible. Overcooked, bland, unappetising selections.

The hotel itself is located in a set party of town and I did not feel safe entering and leaving, especially at night.

Overall pretty much the worst experience I had in any hotel anywhere.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better to avoid the terrible elevators.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank deepspace65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. We truly value your feedback and will always welcome suggestions on how to improve our service delivery.

I would like to start by apologizing for the inconvenience that occurred upon your arrival with regards to the lifts that was not working. I can assure you that the matter was immediately reported to the lift technicians and the problem was attended to that same evening. We are however well aware of the lifts that is troublesome. Please note that we are currently in the process of replacing and upgrading the hotel lifts. This is unfortunately not an over night installation and will appreciate your patience and understanding regarding his matter.

With regards to the rooms; I do apologize if the standard of the room was not as per your expectation. We do take note of the concerns you had and will redouble our efforts in improving the look and feel of the rooms.

With regards to the air-conditioning; We do check the maintenance in the rooms daily, however we do apologize for this air conditioner that was not fully functional at the time. I did check it with the Maintenance Supervisor and it is currently fully functional. We will appreciate it if you could in future report any maintenance or housekeeping concerns to the front desk immediately, as I can assure you the matter will be attended to as urgently as possible.

Please note that most suites does have fridges, however we do provide refrigerators to our guests upon request.

As for the dinner buffet being over priced and the quality of food being terrible; According to the average 3 start property's in our area the meals are well priced. Our restaurant is the heart beat of the Manhattan hotel and we take pride in offering our guests only the best home cooked, fresh food. Our guests valued input and suggestions will always be considered.

We are located in town and although we can do nothing about our location as such, we always keep our property clean and safe as far as possible. We do have a security team on site 24/7 and they are trained to handle relevant situations.

I hope that the above-mentioned explanation is in order.

Should you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact me on the below email address.

Kind Regards
Mieta Kruger
General Manager
mieta@manhattanhotel.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We had an early check-in which was okay when we arrived at the hotel. However, we couldn't stay longer than 2 days because of the comfort, and we were travelling with our LO. We've booked an Executive Family suite, however, we were surprised that the room was so small and had nothing "executive or family" about it. It was unclean, and the bathroom had dirt on the floor from what seemed like previous guests shower gel that wasn't cleaned properly. The windows seemed unopened for days as there was such a humidity smell in the room. We found hair in our bedding and had to request an entirely new makeup of the room because the level of dust that was sitting on the headboard and the side tables were just unacceptable. Besides the friendliness of the staff and the excellent food at the restaurant, the room was a poor 4 out of 10. The bed and the lounge couch were so hard and uncomfortable to sit on for too long. And, it is worth mentioning Scheiding Street which is so busy and noisy throughout the day with all the traffic and public taxis going up the station. We were pretty disappointed though with the room since we were travelling with our LO and that was advised before the booking was finalised and no precaution was taken whatsoever to accommodate us accordingly. For a single traveller or couple, this can be a good stopover with all amenities close by and fair rates. However, I wouldn't recommend the place for family stays.

Room Tip: Request the windows not to face Scheiding Street, unless you're okay with the noise.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KingMons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandiLoock, Manager at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear KingMons,

Thank you so much for your valued feedback, we truly appreciate it.

Our General Manager is trying to get in contact with you, if you may kindly email her on mieta@manhattanhotel.co.za as she really would like to speak to you.

Have a wonderful week!

Kind regards,
Yolandi Loock
PA to the Managing Director
012 3920000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

On our very first night we had a very bad experience with other guests who made life hell for us. This was at no fault of the hotel however... We were ever so grateful and appreciative for the way that management handled the incident and how they secured our safety and comfort for the rest of our week long stay. The rooms are very clean and the staff are more than friendly - always willing to lend a helping hand when you need one. The streets are a bit noisy and it comes up to the rooms on the 8th floor, but the friendliness and good service from staff makes up hundredfold for the little discomfort of a noisy surrounding. This is a lovely place to stay over.

Room Tip: I would ask for a corner suite and preferably away from the busy intersection corner.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TP7Perth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandiLoock, Manager at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear TP7Perth_Australia,

We appreciate your positive feedback about the Manhattan Hotel. We do take pride in catering to our Valued Guests' needs the best way we can.

If you are travelling to Pretoria again soon, please don't hesitate to call us.

We are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Kind regards,
Yolandi Loock
PA to the Managining Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We had just traveled 36 hours from the U.S. and only stayed one night to catch a train first thing in the morning. The hotel was very nice. We've stayed in NYC many times and this hotel would fit right in (hence the name). The breakfast was great. It was a buffet and had many choices. The room was extremely small but very clean. The reason I didn't give it more stars is because we left a very nice, expensive jacket in the closet. I'll admit this was our fault but when we called the following week, they gave us the run around telling us they would call us back, they didn't. This happened 4 times. On the 5th time, someone finally did call us back only to say the jacket wasn't there. We are positive we left the jacket there which means someone on the staff wasn't being honest. I am not going to out right say they stole it but it is missing. I would still recommend staying there as long as you don't leave anything behind. It was in a good location, had a nice little convenient store right next door.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandiLoock, Manager at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Good day Dianne S,

Thank you so much for the review, we truly appreciate it.

We are not able to pick up your booking due to no surname in the review, may you kindly phone or email Anel, she is the Housekeeping Manager at the Manhattan Hotel Pretoria. She is not aware of the jacket that is missing, and would love to get more information from you and also to whom you spoke to.
anel@manhattanhotel.co.za

We do have bigger rooms that may be requested with your next booking, at an additional cost.

We are looking forward to speaking to you very soon.

Have a wonderful day, and we are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Kind regards,
Yolandi Loock
PA to the Managing Director


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

The location is excellent, just 200 m from Gautrain Station (connects to the airport or Sandton etc).
We only stayed one night because we were getting on the Blue Train the next day.

Our room 307 was looking a little tired and the bed was small and hard.

The restaurant was quite busy, a choice of à la cart menu or the buffet. Overall it was a good hotel for this price range.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattandStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandiLoock, Manager at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear MattandStev,

Thank you so much for the review, we truly appreciate it! Thank you for choosing the Manhattan Hotel.

We do have upgraded rooms that can be requested in advance, and we also do have bigger rooms at an additional cost.

We are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Have an amazing day!

Kind regards,
Yolandi Loock
PA to the Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews