We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
35
53
47
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
53
47
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance the hotel is clean decent size restaurant staff hotel is located stayed one night bed was comfortable easy access shopping mall hatfield university gautrain elevator business taxis embassies rugby
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

I love their new bar and restaurants it's so amazing, the corridors smelled of paint which is was understandable bacause they are doing renovations, rather that I love the hotel its amazing and their rooms are lovely

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shegofatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

The hotel is located in Hatfield Pretoria - on good bus routes and walking distance from the Hatfield Gautrain Station ( if you had too..)
Perfect location for business and any major event in Pretoria - with shopping and restaurant options very close by as well. Also very near to the University of Pretoria as well as all major embassies in the area.
Rooms are contemporary and well appointed -
with most rooms offering a walk in shower in the bathroom -
The hotel also offers studio type rooms that require longer stays ..

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bowls course - not facing the shopping mall.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Magellan720605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

My Visit to Protea Marriott Hatfield was work related, so it didn’t allow much opportunities to check out or appreciate much of what the hotel offered.

It is a relatively small hotel. And we felt the claustrophobia on our 1st floor meeting room. At times we were more than 13 in the windowless room, and the lack of oxygen was a stifling exercise.

Also there seemed to be construction going on outside in the under ground parking facilities...(but nearby) for we heard the continuous, shrill of a drill repeatedly in the parking area, and on a daily basis... quite annoying!

We enjoyed sumptuous lunch every day. The meals were delicious. The chef’s lamb stew is to die for. The buffet is blended with tasty local South African culinary favorites like braised chicken feet; boiled samp ( maize kernels); braised chicken kidney; etc. There was a large variety of salad and dessert options

The hotel is beautiful, in the heart of Pretoria, close to shopping malls and plenty of restaurants nearby the hotel to sample. The high speed Gautrain is less than one km distance away, so there is easy access to the transportation network.

I would perhaps suggest prospective visitors; wait 3 months until the construction/ development is completed.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank sharmlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-Hatfield, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Good Day sharmlad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your past stay at our hotel.

We appreciate your honesty and am happy to inform you that the construction has completed.
We can guarantee no construction related noises around the hotel.

Your feedback regarding the venue you used is very helpful and we will look into improving it.
Thank you for advising of the noise factor relating to other GUESTS close to your room. It is an area we are trying to resolve keeping all parties in mind.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your meal and your overall stay at the hotel.
We truly hope to welcome you back in the near future to show you the final product and the changes we have made.

Kind Regards,
Paulina Wehmeyer
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We staid three nights before heading out on a tour.
The room was comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was good and varied.
Located close to supermarket, food outlets and banks.
The wifi worked OK but had to be renewed from time to time.

Room Tip: Keep away from the road.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiedave717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Poor might be a little tough of a rating but I can't give it an average. There is lots of construction going on so maybe things will improve later. But for now the sounds and smells of construction are there.

The rooms are fairly small but useable. We were coming off a two week trip with both hunting and fishing so we had a lot of gear, the room got small fast. Bathrooms were cramped also. There were some stains on the carpet also, looked like blood but could have been something else.

The staff was really nice and the lobby bar and restaurant were nice.

The TV system (two remotes that the staff felt compelled to show you have it worked) failed and they couldn't seem to fix it. The wifi was essentially useless in my room, fully unacceptable for me and a Marriott property. Oddly enough it worked just fine if I went into the hallway but that the desk or bed it wouldn't connect at all. So, I'd have to go into the hallway to send or receive emails, pretty lame.

I was also a little surprised to see they were offering smoking rooms but our two rooms did not smell like smoke.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-Hatfield, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear michael n,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us.

While it was a pleasure having you as our GUEST, I am disappointed that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us.

Your feedback has been taken seriously and we will address the matters in our control timeously to prevent your or any other GUEST from experiencing the same in the future.

I truly hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back in the future to show you the changes we have made and to hopefully give you the experience we intend you to have.

Kind Regards,
Paulina Wehmeyer
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews