We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
35
53
47
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
53
47
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance the hotel is clean decent size restaurant staff hotel is located stayed one night bed was comfortable easy access shopping mall hatfield university gautrain elevator business taxis embassies rugby
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Centrally located, within walking distance to Tuks varsity & student res.
Very friendly staff- happy people :-)
Rooms clean & well kept.
Check in / out quick & hassle free.
Rooms on floors 4-6 recommended. 3 is noisy because of restaurant & street traffic.
Give breakfast a miss. Very average & overpriced. Go to Wimpy 50m down the road. Great Pizza restaurant next to hotel. News Cafe and P&P accross the road.
Africa themed vibe throughout.

Overall enjoyable stay!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank RayHartmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-Hatfield, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear RayHartmann,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will be shared with the TEAM.

Your comment regarding breakfast has been noted and will be investigated to see how we can improve it.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Paulina Wehmeyer
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Great hotel. The rooms had a business/corporate feeling and were very modern and are equipped with everything you need. The staff are very friendly and pleasant . What I enjoyed most was the pool outside.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Alexanderkurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-Hatfield, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Alexanderkurtz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your stay with us.

I am delighted to see that you had a wonderful stay.
Our aim is to ensure each GUEST experiences the best of the best and it is wonderful to see that you experienced that.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Paulina Wehmeyer
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

A great hotel, we stayed here for 1 night before catching our flight the following morning, which the hotel provided there bus to transfer us a a reasonable cost, a great driver, thanks. We had breakfast which was a good start for us. The staff were really freindly and helpful, organizing taxis ETC.
Thanks for a good stay

Room Tip: always a high room
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank geoff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-Hatfield, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear geoff h,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Each GUEST is important to us and our goal is to ensure each GUEST has a memorable experience.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Paulina Wehmeyer
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very very nice. The rooms are very clean and a decent size. The staff are very friendly. The rooms have a nice bathroom, comfortable beds, tv, A.C. and Wi-Fi the restaurant attached to this hotel has great food and service. There is also a bar. The area around the hotel is clean, safe and very modern.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mirandahanuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH-Hatfield, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear mirandahanuse,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you had a wonderful stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Paulina Wehmeyer
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

My husband and I recently stayed at the Protea Hatfield Hotel and was very displeased about our stay.
We checked in on Saturday 09 December 2017 for an overnight stay as we were attending a concert at time square casino that night.
We returned to the hotel just before 2-30am on the Sunday morning. We were allocated a room on the third floor (room 315).
We were abruptly awakened at just pass 7am to the sound of jackhammers and other construction equipment at work.
Naturally we didn’t get much sleep. The whole reason of staying at the hotel was for the purpose of getting a decent night’s rest.

Upon telling the staff at reception about the noise and interrupted sleep that we had, they responded by stating that they were unaware that
there was to be any construction taking place. This was our first stay at a Protea Hotel and we are very dissatisfied. If we had known that the hotel was
under construction, then we would have booked elsewhere.
It is unacceptable not to disclose that the hotel is under construction on the website.
We paid for the service of using the hotel to get enough rest but didn’t receive it. It is highly unlikely that we will be booking in at another Protea hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank natasha0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear NATASHA,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield.

Please accept our sincere apology for the construction and the noise that was caused.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Pretoria, and when our renovation has been completed.

Sincerely,
Pieter Blackie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews