We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
98
22
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
22
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rovos rail high tea grissini one night small hotel lovely bathroom next morning comfortable beds breakfast was delicious south africa union buildings excellent service luxury taxi suburb receptionist johannesburg
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018

I enjoyed the stay. only had an issue with breakfast. l felt there was no variety. the whole 2 weeks l stayed there l was only having English breakfast and the omlette. May be they should try do have guest suggest what they what and have it cooked.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nyashamutongoreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We had money stolen out of the in room safe... management didn't even care. Towels still had the sales tag on it- it was new but unwashed... service is very slow. It was overall very disappointing and we will not stay there or recommend 131 Herbert Baker to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Weezie884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We sat outside the gate for about 5 minutes repeatedly pressing the intercom call button, before a member of staff arrived and also failed to get a response to the intercom. He resorted to shouting, which did result in the gate finally being opened. Although we mentioned this at reception and were assured it would be dealt with, the same thing occurred to us subsequently and, also, to other guests and visitors.
The receptionist, (did not give his name), left us feeling that we were something of an inconvenience.
The cynic in me suspects that the football match on TV, may have influenced both these points!
We were asked if we would be dining and at what time. Half an hour later, the kitchen called to ask the same thing.

The room was OK, except for the damaged and questionable cleaning of the window surround. Bed & single chair were both comfortable.

The restaurant has a number of large cracks in the floor! see photos.

We returned at 14:00 on our 2nd day to find the entrance blocked by men working, cleaning equip., pipes and cables. Our balcony was just about usable, they shared area full of tables etc. from the restaurant which was also reaching a much needed floor clean.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alan-and_Liz_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We went recently on a two week trip of South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia. Our first stop was at 131 and it was a great start to the holiday. Very clean and comforable. We arrived late afternoon and had a delicious dinner. Breakfast was also good but we had to leave quite early so could not enjoy the hotel as much as we would have liked.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We flew into Johannesburg from Sydney and were met by one of our tour guides at the airport and taken directly to the hotel which is in a fairly high class residential area. After freshening up, we were taken on an escorted day tour of Johannesburg and Pretoria.
Our tour guide provided a wealth of knowledge for the visits we made that day including Soweto and the Apartheid Museum.
Soweto was a bit of an eye opener in that there are, in some parts of Soweto, residences which would not be out of place in any "other part of town" but unfortunately there are still very poor areas which could only be described as slums.
The museum itself contains a vast collection of the history of apartheid focussing on Nelson Mandela and his work.
Back to the hotel where we found that the internal telephone was out of order but our room was clean and comfortable. Dinner that evening and breakfast the next morning was good without being exceptional.
This hotel was fine for our purposes but it would probably be better to find another hotel for a stay of two days or more.
All of the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank tss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews