We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian at its best”
Review of Fumo

Fumo
Ranked #36 of 832 Restaurants in Pretoria
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Pizzas great Pastas good Parking at the frontdoor Service good Authentic italian restaurant Great atmosphere Good espresso Will visit again

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank T9259RNcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2016

The restaurant has an absolutely fantastic ambience. Very friendly welcome. We were looking forward to a fabulous evening out. From then on, every time we wanted something, we had to look for service - bearing in mind the restaurant had only about 6 tables occupied, so they were not at all busy. The food was a real disappointment overall - it just did not deliver on the expectations. No indication on the menu that the prawn, calamari and hake starter would have chilli in it and I don't eat hot or spicy food at all, so I was shocked to find the prawns were real chilli hot! Steak was tough and definitely not cooked to medium - more medium rare. Chocolate brownie was horrid. Sorry Fumo, but we won't be back. We were a family of four adults.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rootginger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This is an upper class establishment - fine dining. You know it is a good restaurant if a lot of local italians go there. The service was very good and the food well prepared, tasty and well presented. Whilst it is a bit more expensive the portions sizes are large and you don't go home hungry.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent Italian food with large variety and combination of Italian wine for all dishes.
Ambience nice for business and couple launch and dinner.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank PaoloO520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

This was a neighborhood restaurant near the university. We had the risotto with prawn (a little salty, but good), lamb fusilli, and the burrata. All were worth ordering. Main course and a glass of wine for three came to about R600, which I thought was reasonable for the setting, service and food quality. My only complaint was that the best tables, near the windows, are also the smoking section. Yuck.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank 725sde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fumo also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Fumo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing