We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Carnivore

Carnivore
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Muldersdrift
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$35
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

A dining experience unlike any other and one not to be missed. The staff are hugely enthusiastic- welcoming you at the door and taking you down to the restaurant past life-size figures of Nelson Mandela, Chaka and Lobengula amongst others. The house cocktail is highly recommended. A selection of sauces including horseradish, mint and apple sauce are brought to the table together with salads and then the meats start... huge skewers with every meat you can imagine arrive one after the other and the opportunity try unusual game is unparalleled. Any celebrations like birthdays cause all the staff to join in a wonderful performance of traditional singing and dancing which we could have listened to all night. The whole atmosphere was just electric. It is definitely an experience not to be missed

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for choosing Carnivore! We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time. Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2018

A good place to go in a group and if you like meat. Tremendous selection of different kindas of meat from beef, to zebra and virtually everything in between. Only 20 minutes from Randburg in the Cradle of Humankind.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marc Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for choosing Carnivore! We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time. Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

The property is very nice and the room was neat and clean. Breakfast was substandard and the dinner and dance offered in the package at Carnivore Restaurant was a nightmare. During the so-called Dinner and Dance we did not receive any service, had to search for waiters (who was unwilling to serve us), no food was served at our table and we once again had to ask unwilling waiters to serve us as they were dancing and having their own New Years celebration. The Dance and the Band : Terrible, terrible, terrible. The band did not take all the patrons in consideration and only played music relating to their own culture. On multiple occasions we requested management to cater for ALL the patrons but this request was ignored. We were not the only guests complaining and this will definitely be the last time we visit this establishment.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank AduPreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for the time you have taken to review our property.

This is of utmost importance to us. We take note of the shortcomings and continuously strive for higher standards. The email you sent to our Hotel was well received and we thank you again for your feedback. The valued feedback we received from you was brought to the attention of Management who has carried out a thorough investigation with regards to the issues raised.

Please accept our sincerely apologies for the disappointing service rendered from our Carnivore Restaurant. We have instilled corrective measure to ensure that these issues are rectified.

We hope to welcome you again in future and provide you with a more pleasant and memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

The way they serve the food is nice. For a meatlover this place will do. You can eat things like crocodile and zebra. But the food lacks a bit of quality.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank kjeld g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Carnivore.
We make every effort to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable time and we apologise for not meeting all your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

It was my first time visiting the restaurant. I took 2 work colleagues (one from the UK), and we were all impressed by the vibe in the restaurant. Once the food started coming the Meat especially was a real treat. It was a special experience to try meats like Zebra, Kudu, Gemsbok and Crocodile (mixture of chicken and pork with Attitude). The staff were great too and the only downside was the wines don't match the wine list. For a top class restaurant that really has no excuse.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank R8979PFandrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Carnivore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Carnivore. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable time and we apologise for not meeting all your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carnivore also viewed

Krugersdorp, Greater Johannesburg
Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
 
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Krugersdorp, Greater Johannesburg
Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Carnivore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing