We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pro”
Review of Migali

Migali
Ranked #455 of 1,464 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

I stopped in here to kill time and grab a quick bite to eat.

I was shown a table close to the coffee station. and with a good view.

The decor and appointment of the establishment is really good with modern fittings and both inside and outside dining options.

The place was moderately busy and service was commensurate with a lunch time trading period.

It was courteous and prompt.

I chose to have a Migali Latte which was offered with a choice of Macadamia or Vanilla flavoring. This arrived quickly and nice and hot.

The menu is extensive and well balanced. I chose a Caprese French Toast. Described as mozzarella cheese and fresh basil french toast and a tomato relish. The option was white or brown bread. The dish was a disappointment as what I expected was 2 slices of wholewheat home baked or speciality loaf French toast, with melted mozzarella, topped with a tasty tomato relish. I got two slices of government loaf brown bread French toast with thin slices of white cheese with a small serving of tomato concassé. The tomato was tasty yet the portion was about a tablespoon.

All in all if you don't have a high expectation you wont be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The old Europa - now Migali's - excellent service - proper soft scrambled eggs & crispy bacon, exactly as ordered and delivered before I could finish scanning the Business Day paper, so thoughtfully dropped off as I arrived!
Superb Flat White coffee - delivered hot & strong - decent start to the day!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Always full which tells me the food is good and have the best breakfasts. Also great coffee and croissant when on the go

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank StefaniaR1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Service is very good and knowledgable. There are always at least two friendly 'managers' on the floor. Everyone there knows someone else, so it is very social. The menu has something for everyone with an emphasis on freshness. As well as an extensive breakfast menu they offer pastas, burgers and meat dishes. My favourite is the chicken liver salad - which I initially chose to be healthy but now order everytime we go there, it is really one of my all out favourite dishes. This place is buzzing and finding a table at peak times can be a problem. My one warning is that everything is obviously made from scratch - so do be prepared to wait, especially if they are busy. Dont fight for parking in front of the restaurant - there is plenty of parking on the property adjoining the Oaklands veg shop next door.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank intrepid_dup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Migali also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Migali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing