We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Coffee”
Review of Craft Coffee

Craft Coffee
Ranked #28 of 55 Coffee & Tea in Johannesburg
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Description: Craft coffee is a roastery based in Newtown and is part of the Newtown precinct regeneration. We have state of the art roasting facilities that enable us to roast high quality coffees. We have a training school and we have a selection of coffee courses too. Attached to the roastery is a coffee bar where you can experience the art and science of what we do. So come and explore what Newtown has to offer and have fun at Craft Coffee.
Restaurant details
Description: Craft coffee is a roastery based in Newtown and is part of the Newtown precinct regeneration. We have state of the art roasting facilities that enable us to roast high quality coffees. We have a training school and we have a selection of coffee courses too. Attached to the roastery is a coffee bar where you can experience the art and science of what we do. So come and explore what Newtown has to offer and have fun at Craft Coffee.
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

For your cup of coffee don’t miss this place.
It is by far one of the best coffees in town. Excellent cups and consistent

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank JohnM16730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

From the minute you walk in, you welcomed by a wonderful aroma of the roasting coffee beans. Was fortunate enough to be given a private tour to their coffee making. Great atmosphere and while enjoying a cup, saw a couple of local celebrities and it made sense because the shop is located in Newton not too far from the theater. There's room for improvement as far as their choices of coffees are concern, i'd like to taste something exotic in my next visit.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Shreck-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovejoy c, Manager at Craft Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hi Shreck-1
Thank you for the amazing review and we are happy that you had a great time when you visited Craft Coffee. Please speak to one of our amazing baristas who can recommend some interesting coffees that we have on our list to try. We are confident that you will get a coffee that will be amazing i recommend you try our Ethiopia Yirgacheffe Kana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Tucked away but a must-have to. Excellent coffee, service and vibe. Great European vibe. Enjoy the show and tell and learn more about the craft of coffee.

Date of visit: April 2017
2  Thank Ilonka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Nice staff. Good coffee. Beautiful space. I liked the fact I could sit for a minute and chat with friends and the folks who work there.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank nycdoctora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

Craft Coffee is one of those hidden gems in the city of Joburg. It is located in Newtown surrounded by probably the best collection of graffiti in the city. The coffee is superlative!

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank BeingAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovejoy c, General Manager at Craft Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Thank you very much for the review AB. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Newtown and there will plenty of new exciting coffees on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Craft Coffee also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Craft Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing