We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Marvelous experience in the city...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Marvelous experience in the city...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We spent an extremely romantic evening at the Peech Hotel on my birthday. From the moment that we arrived we were made to feel welcome and at home. The service was exceptional and the staff all appeared proud to be working at the establishment.

It is worthwhile using the service of “an Evening Out” - Cloud 9 for that special touch (www.floatation.co.za). We had a full body massage in our room followed by a delicious dinner served in our room. We felt like a prince and princess!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_Romantic_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm delighted you had a good stay. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    105
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
92
275
37
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We are here for three nights and can't say enough about the friendlness and professioanlism of the front desk staff. The room, grounds and bistro are exactly what you expect from a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: When flying in to johannesburg be sure to have the hotel arrange for a shuttle and make it easy. #13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neverabadday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thanks for your kind words. I will make sure the team get to hear them. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed at this lovely boutique hotel in early May for one night, and was impressed with this oasis in Johannesburg. The hotel rooms are all bungalow style, and the bungalows are spread out across the very nicely kept courtyard/gardens, which you walk through to get to your bungalow. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious- ours had a small seating area, desk, ample closet space and a nice, large bathroom. We only had two meals at the Peech, but liked the food very much. The included breakfast was excellent- there is a continental style offering in addition to the very well prepared hot options. We had lunch once as well, and were again impressed by the food. The service we received was excellent as well- the staff was friendly and helpful, and certainly made for a very pleasant experience. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone, and will be staying there again the next time I am in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lordoftheonionrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thanks for the kind review. I will be sure to tell the team. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was our first stay when arriving to SA and it was great. The front desk helped us arrange a private tour of Soweto and Aparteid Museum which was outstanding--Thanks to Kirin who was our guide for the day. The meals at the bistro were very good also--the patio is nice to have a cocktail or bottle of wine at sundown. The hotel is located in a Residential area but is a quick ride to Melrose Arch. If you're looking for somewhere to stay where you can walk to shops, restaurants, Peech isn't what you want, you'd prefer African Pride in Melrose Arch. However, the quiet and quaint Peech grounds and nice size room was great for us. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, you may want a room upstairs, but we had one on ground level and enjoyed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyesmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Peech for five days in March. The location is fantastic - close to Melrose Arch. The rooms circle the garden which is lush and peaceful. Our room (top/second floor) was simple but impeccably clean, spacious and with high ceilings. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also delicious. I'm thrilled that we stayed here instead of a concrete high rise. It was perfect for a relatively short stay, and would be an even more obvious choice if I had to stay longer. The Peech also arranged a fantastic tour of Joburg with Kearan, which made my time in Joburg so much richer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I will make sure the whole team read your comments. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.1 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.9 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.9 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
4.7 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 km away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#7 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Property: The Peech Hotel
Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing