We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best boutique hotel in the world.”
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“The best boutique hotel in the world.”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Amazing!

- Staff A+ Service
- Rooms Superb
- Hotel grounds are beautiful
- Peech the Cat is a charmer.

Loved it, what a way to spend a business trip.

Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Thank you so much for your comments - and we love the title of your review. I will be sure to pass them on to the staff. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    107
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
96
287
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2011

What a fantastic discovery. The Peech is a delightfully unusual boutique hotel, with spacious, funky, apartment-style rooms, a lovely verdant open layout, and outstanding food. Perhaps the best thing is the cheerful friendliness of the staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. I will be sure to pass them to the staff. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Gaube
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This little hidden away gem was just right for 1 nights stay before we went off to Mauritius.

Teh rooms are very clean and well stocked with green rpoducts. Also it was heartening to see a hotel in Africa using solar panelling for energy.

We didnt eat in teh restaurant but they did make us breakfast to take away as we ahd to leave at 6am

I think I need to come back to really feel the full benefit of this establishment.

Its location is ideal too only 5 mins drive from Rosebank Mall and all the goodies that are help there.

Room Tip: All looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. I will be sure to pass them on to the staff. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I booked this hotel for my son and his girlfriend for his last night in South Africa - he was visiting his girlfriend who is studying there for a year. Their car broke down and they didn't arrive until 2.00 a.m. He said Victor was very helpful and they had phoned their car hire firm and arranged for a tow truck to come out and get them. He said Victor was helpful and warm and sandwiches were put in their room which I had requested. They wished they had got their earlier, as that had been their plan, as the hotel was lovely. Thank you Peech hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. I will be sure to tell Victor that he gave great service. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We consider ourselves experienced travelers and don't submit reviews unless we are really wowed by an experience. Our recent stay at The Peech was so exceptional we decided that we would return to Joburg from the States just stay there again! The rooms are simple yet classic with all the right amenities. Their coffee was the best we had during out 6 days in all of South Africa! We still long for a cup, or two. Their breakfast and dinner couldn't be more delicious! And their staff was the most gracious, morning, noon and night. Mr. Peech didn't miss a beat when designing this lovely little sanctuary.

If you are looking for a place to stay in Joburg, The Peech is definitely the place!

Room Tip: They are all perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPeech, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you so much for your great comments (I will also tell Johnathan, owner of Bean There Coffee Co who supply us). Kind regards, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.2 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.9 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.9 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.7 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 km away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Property: The Peech Hotel
Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing