We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast spot”
Review of Voodoo Lily Cafe

Voodoo Lily Cafe
Ranked #312 of 1,420 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on the corner of St Andrew St & Wrenrose Avenue in Birdhaven shopping centre, this sunny glass fronted restaurant brings new life to an old row of shops.The decor exudes a back to basics concept, with its tables made out of reclaimed aluminium and recycled compressed plastic and husks. Collectables sit comfortably along side more modern fittings giving the cafe a homely, comfortable feel.You are welcome at most any time to pop in for "a cup of fair trade, organic African coffee" or to linger over a "locally sourced home-made meal". Fully Licensed. Opening hours 7:00am to 10pm Monday to Saturday and Sunday 7:15am to 3pm
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Decided to try their breakfast after Parkrun. Ample parking across the road. Relaxed, leisurely family and community setting. Opted to sit outside.

Thoroughly enjoyed the "Raw" breakfast which included a choice of paw paw or mango served with double thick Greek yoghurt, raw honey, cubed pineapple and raw cocoa nibs, with the addition of the Banting granola. We asked if we could have both paw paw and mango and the manager was obliging. Thank you!

Orders of "Sharky's Poached Eggs" seemed to be the popular choice by patrons. It really looked delicious, though the "Sterns Shakshuka" sounds good.

The presentation of the food and overall service was very good too.

Will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan_Beattie, Owner at Voodoo Lily Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Hi Finesse1
Thanks for your great rating and awesome detailed review! What could we do to improve to get a 5* rating from you?
So glad to see you will come back again - thank you!
Kind regards
Jonathan (Owner)
jonathan@voodoolilycafe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2017

Had lunch here a couple of times this week. The staff were very good, as was the food. A nice area of Melrose/Birdhaven. Might be going back there tonight for dinner as it opens until 10pm.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan_Beattie, Owner at Voodoo Lily Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Hi Tony
Thank you for your rating and review - we would love to see you again soon
Kind regards
Jonathan (Owner)
jonathan@voodoolilycafe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely evening at this restaurant. Seated outside on a hot Friday evening we were entertained by the soulful sounds of live music. The lady in question was excellent. Initially the sound was a tad too loud which impaired the conversation. It would be nice to have it slightly turned down.

The service is on point and when the manager came to our table he was aware of our concern about people smoking close to us and knew what we had ordered. Impressive! There is clearly good awareness from management side and communication with the waitering staff.

Food is fresh and wholesome - the hand cut chips divine. Good value for money!

Thank Ilonka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan_Beattie, Owner at Voodoo Lily Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Ilonka
Thank you for your great rating and honest and informative review.
I'll definately discuss the points you raise with our managers and see what can be done about them. We love Nalize singing on a Friday evening - especially in the summer.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jonathan (Owner)
jonathan@voodoolilycafe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

So-so everything. Not terrible, but far from from great. My eggs benedict was served on a rather dry English muffin.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan_Beattie, Owner at Voodoo Lily Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Don

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Voodoo Lily Cafe. Specially sorry you did not like your eggs benedict - one of our most popular dish's. Did you speak to a manager on duty about it?

Please will you email me your cell number number to jonathan@voodoolilycafe.com so I can contact you to get further information and rectify this?

Kind regards
Jonathan (Owner)
jonathan@voodoolilycafe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We were staying across the road and saw this cafe so decided to have dinner there off the cuff. We were lucky to be there on a Friday night and they had live music which was a bonus and very good. We ordered some small menu items while we sat and enjoyed a glass of wine and beer and would have to say the vegetable spring rolls were the best we've tasted. Great little cafe, good food, great service

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PrioryII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan_Beattie, Owner at Voodoo Lily Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hi PrioryII - Wow thanks for your rating and kind words.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jonathan (Owner)
jonathan@voodoolilycafe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Voodoo Lily Cafe also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Voodoo Lily Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing