We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant, with a slightly different menu”

Thava Indian Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 1,425 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I love Indian food, but grow weary of much the same offerings at most Indian restaurants. Thava is, however, somewhat different, and I look forward to my next visit when I shall continue to work my way through the numerous dishes whose names I have never encountered before.

Starter kebabs were a bit dry, but main dishes were very good - I took the tapas route, ordering half portions of dal and lamb - a sensory feast the memory of which is causing me to salivate as I type.

Unfortunately service was a tad slow, but the interaction with waiters was very pleasant.

Parking is free.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vibin v, General Manager at Thava Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear. Thank you so much for your support and valuable comment. Look forward to hosting you again. thanks vibin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This place is always full and waiters are on there A-Game.

I go often to that place and each time it amazes me with the type of food they serve. Music and ambiance is good and there Momo’s are Devine. Absolutely love the food.

2  Thank riteshd142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vibin v, General Manager at Thava Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear. Thank you so much for your support and valuable comment. Look forward to hosting you again. thanks vibin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I have reviewed so many restaurants when I’m travelling, but forget to review what’s on my doorstep. I love this restaurant and Thava is the best Indian restaurant I’ve been to, and my favourite outside of India. All the dishes are delicious, you could be in India. The service is outstanding and excellent value for money. I’ve been to Thava many time and it is consistently excellent.

1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vibin v, General Manager at Thava Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear. Thank you so much for your support and valuable comment. Look forward to hosting you again. thanks vibin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

As always this restaurant is full. Lots of people. Buzzing with energy.
We ordered papdi chaat. Four pieces came. Topped with a ton of boiled potato. And only a little chutney. They need to get their sense of proportion right.

Also ordered chili chicken. Didn't give the sense of being freshly prepared. Fills your stomach but doesn't satisfy the taste buds.

Finally lachcha paratha and daal. Again just average. Not great.

The overall meal was average. The waitress was very nice and friendly

1  Thank Rajeev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vibin v, General Manager at Thava Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear. Thank you so much for your support and valuable comment. we really apologizing the fact that you felt our dishes are average . however we have informed this issue to our concern department and will make sure it wont happen again. Look forward to hosting you again. thanks vibin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We popped in for lunch , restaurant was quiet so service was very attentive , the staff member Bongani was very professional , They have a wide ranging menu and the food was great

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adamschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vibin v, General Manager at Thava Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear. Thank you so much for your support and valuable comment. Look forward to hosting you again. thanks vibin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thava Indian Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Thava Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing