We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
189
40
12
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
40
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrosebank mallfood wine pairingbiltong saladmatched perfectlyan interesting menucharlotte rhys toiletriestrendy restaurantquick nightroom was comfortable and cleangautrain stationbreakfast choicesgarden and pool arealovely suburbsmall hotelnight flightroom wasn't readythe staff were extremely helpful
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Very good experience overall. The room was nice and clean and the garden is quite pleasant. Great location but it comes with some street noise, nothing that wouldn't be expected. We had the Valentine's Day dinner, which was absolutely delicious but service was erratic and very, very slow. It was a bit frustrating to see couples who arrived over 30 minutes after us getting their third course while we were still waiting on our second. We were sitting at the table for over 3.5 hours, borderline ridiculous even for 5 courses. But all of the 5 courses were brilliant, and so were the wines that were paired with them, which made us a little bit more forgiving. I would still recommend both the hotel and the restaurant (if you are not in a hurry!).

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear valued Guest,

We thank you kindly for taking the time to review our establishment. All in all we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your dinner with us although we would have loved to impress you further with a faster dinner service! It was an incredibly busy dinner on Valentines Day with us offering the tasting menu and wine pairing and we truly apologise to you that the service was not as fast as it should have been! We do sincerely hope that we may welcome you back to Clico in the future and thank you agin for your kind and constructive feedback!

Warmest regards,
The CLICO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Within a very affluent part of J'burg, this hotel offered super comfort, tranquillity and total relaxation...with Rosebank shopping area/mall < 5 mins walk away. Rooms are very well appointed and service throughout is fantastic. I chose to eat in the hotel restaurant and what a great decision this was. Fillet steak that was beautifully cooked and true quality. I recommend this hotel without hesitation - everything a boutique should be.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear valued Guest,

It was a pleasure reading your review and we thank you for the time taken to write it! Feedback like this motivates our staff a great deal and we hope we may welcome you back again sometime soon!

Warmest regards,
The CLICO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Clico for two nights at the start of our holiday in South Africa. The hotel arranged transport from the airport and the check in process was warm and friendly. We had a nice room overlooking the small swimming pool. We had dinner on our first night which was excellent and breakfast likewise. We walked to the nearby Rosebank mall with no personal safety concerns.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear valued Guest

We are delighted to read that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the convenient location of our establishment as well as the cuisine. We hope you had a wonderful holiday further and trust that we may welcome you back to Clico again in the future.

Kindest regards,
The CLICO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

second time for us.
friendly and professional staff. accomodation very elegant and nice romantic rooms.
excellent food and service. 6 courses menu really nice with wine pairings.
nice and safe areas. Our address in Joburg.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carlogiaquinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear valued Guests

There is nothing better than welcoming back regular and repeat guest! Thank you for making Clico your home away from home and we already look forward to your next return!

Warmest regards,
The CLICO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Small hotel located in Rosebank, a short distance from the mall. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms are well appointed, but are rather small. Pool area and surroundings well fitted out and attractive.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear valued Guest,

We wish to thank you for your kind and positive review and hope that we may welcome you back in the near future. Please do note that all our rooms are different shapes and sizes and yes, some are smaller than others. If we may welcome you back please do let us know at the time and we will recommend a larger category with pleasure.

Kindest regards,
The CLICO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews