We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northcliff Manor Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northcliff Manor Guest House
Ranked #28 of 288 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Thanks to the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to go to northcliff Manor. What a wonderful place to stay. We only stayed for one night before we had to go back to Holland. But it was great. A beautifull house located on a Hill overlooking Jo'burg. The house and garden are just amazing and John and Ilse the best hosts ever. The room was spacious and very clean. We certainly had a "room with a view" thanks to John we ate at the best steakhouse! We only had one day to visit Jo'burg but John arranged a taxidriver to pick us up at the Apartheidsmuseum and take us to see Soweto. We learned alot on this 2 hour drive. And i am in love with the paintings that Ilse makes. They're beautifull. Ohh and the breakfast is to die die for! John and Ilse Thank you so much for making our stay in Jo'burg "onvergetelijk". Hope you have a great time in Amsterdam! We hope to come back and stay à little longer in your great guesthouse.
Karin & Peter

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaatje66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    16
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
42
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

If you shun cubist, minimalist and bland, then this is the place. Reflecting an era long past when wood and space was the norm, this guest house pleases the eye as much as it pampers the body. The warmth of Johnny and Ilse, your hosts, is real and unpretentious. Unfortunately we had only one night and a short one at that, but my colleague swam a quick 10 lengths in the sizeable pool the morning, I appreciated the free wi-fi connection to address a niggling issue as the experience of restful luxury made its mark and the sherry decanter was a nice touch. The three spaniels are a nice touch for someone who missed his own dogs.

Room Tip: For space the bridal suite is unchallenged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AskiesDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

An historical manor house set amidst a tranquil garden with a view of Jo'burg. Elegantly furnished guesthouse, enhanced by the owners extensive collection of china and antique furniture. I was greeted by my host Johnny and the family cocker spaniels. My room was clean and comfortable, with a cool breeze wafting through the open balcony doors. Very welcome on a 32C summer evening! In the morning, I awoke to birdsong in the garden and was treated to a delicious breakfast of my choice. A pleasant and hospitable change from a formal hotel setting!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Stayed for two nights and had an extremely enjoyable time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lephalale, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

a stunning beautiful Manor in a very quiet and tranquil setting, overlooking Johannesburg, with a lot of artefacts make you feel like Alice in Wonderland. No detail has been overlooked and the owners Ilse en Johnny make you feel very much at home and comfortable. The tastefully decorated rooms breathe that Ilse is an artist herself and knows what a guests wishes are! Pure excellence! Jan and Maya Oosterhoff

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leopardleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 km away
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
#37 of 288 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
7.7 km away
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
0.5 km away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#16 of 288 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Blackheath Manor Guest House
Blackheath Manor Guest House
#8 of 288 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
6.8 km away
Dunkeld Manor
Dunkeld Manor
#17 of 288 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
7.3 km away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#9 of 288 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcliff Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliff Manor Guest House

Property: Northcliff Manor Guest House
Address: 7 Hearn Drive | Northcliff, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 288 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcliff Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet upmarket suburb of Northcliff against the hill with a lovely view of Northern Johannesburg. Quiet and peaceful with DSTV and free Wi-Fi in each room. Huge garden with pool, tennis court and Jacuzzi. Owners are award-winning designers and manufacturers of Stage, Film, and TV decor sets. All credit cards welcome and foreign currency accepted. Transport and food can be arranged on prior notice. The owner has a fine collection of European Antiques and Yellow and Stinkwood Africana Furniture. Built in 1937, the manor was recently expertly renovated and refurbished with the comfort of guests in mind. Close to malls, cinemas and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Northcliff Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing