We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
25
65
35
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
65
35
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely old hotel recommend this hotel rooms are comfortable walking distance short stay lekker boardwalk
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Decided to stay with them for our Babymoon. Made a sea view booking.
Booking with Jackie was great. She was friendly and helpful.
The Hotel is well kept and the room we stayed in very nice. I would go back, but what really needs work is the friendliness of the staff. From booking in at reception up to the lady helping at the breakfast....shocking. The only friendly staff I met was the barman and the cleaning lady in the passage. Guys, we are on holiday, and although it is work for you, a smile and a friendly howdy makes one stay so much more enjoyable. O yes, and the car security man on night shift, wow was he friendly and helpful !!!

Room Tip: Book early if you want a sea view room.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gordon-Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

If you looking for a good clean and friendly hotel in Port Elizabeth then look no further. Staff are friendly and the breakfast is the best. Optional extra buffet dinner very worthwhile so much food to choose from and then still go back for more. Right on beachfront and ideally situated for relaxing beach front walk.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brucek1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

I didn't stay at this hotel myself, but recently organized a surprise birthday party for my mom, which Dave and his team executed beautifully. Dealing with Dave was an absolute pleasure and the food was delicious. The menu was very extensive with every whim catered for. The staff on duty for the party were great.

The rooms are very spacious and very comfortable. I had booked two rooms for a family and it was really big with lounge, kitchen and two bedrooms. You can literally step out from the hotel and be on the beach in a few steps.

Great job all round.... Really good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElleVee288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, General Manager at Humewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Many thanks, glad your family enjoyed the experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely time at the Humewood.

The rooms are spacious and the chocolates on the pillow a real treat after a long day out.

I would recommend the morning breakfast. The breakfast menu was always different and delicious.

We will definitely be back next year:)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Bianca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We visited your pub to watch the football last night. The barman was so astonishingly rude that we were gobsmacked. When asked whether the football would be screened, we received nothing but a look of contempt. He literally spoke no words, only snorts and grunts. We stood there for about 2 confused minutes, whilst he went about other tasks. He eventually served our three beers and turned on his heel. Again we asked about the screening of the game as he returned to his seat at the corner of the bar. He simply motioned towards the dstv remote at the end of the bar. We had to reach over and change the channel ourselves. I didn't think it could get any worse until the moment the final whistle blew and he caught our eye and made a time-out signal and waved our bill in the air for US to get up and fetch. What a farce! If these are the type of people you employ, I shudder to think what a stay at your hotel must be like.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ilka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews