We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Christiana Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$274
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$118
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
T'Niqua Stable Inn(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea Breeze(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquavit Guest House(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
US$772
US$716
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$541
US$529
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
502
94
26
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
94
26
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restaurantliz mcgrathbeautiful hotelcomplimentary mini bargarden routeoverlooking the baythe main hotelsister hotelthe general managerinfinity poola sea view roomlookout beachthree nightshotel restaurantstunning viewsworld classsouth africa
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We were arriving later than expected due to flight changes so I rang the hotel to let them know we would not be there before 10pm. The receptionist was so kind. She arranged food to be ready for us to have in our room on arrival and just did the minimum required for check-in saying we could do the rest next morning. Cant thank her enough as we were very tired.The room - sea view - was huge. Corner room with lots of light and great ocean view. Breakfasts excellent , dinner good but not great. Great beach bar just 100yds away recommended by concierge. Fantastic service all round at his very elegant hotel

Room Tip: great sea view rooms
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leatons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Leatons

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

What a lovely review to read. It is fantastic to receive such wonderful feedback from a guests. It motivates us to perform even better. It's those tiny notable touches that sets us apart from the rest. It's a unique experience. Plettenberg Bay is a lovely town. It is beautiful. We are so fortunate to live in this little hamlet. We have the best views in town. Breakfast is delicious and so should our dinner be. I am disappointed to read that it was not. I wish I had the opportunity to personally speak to you about this.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ, Rosslee and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

It is even hard to describe how great the stay was!
All the premise is specially decorated and the infinite pool facing the sea is just amazing!
Free drinks everyday in the room and a remarkable breakfast!
The staff is really warm and professional! Special mentions to Laula at the reception!
Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank CaioDamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 May 2017

Dear Caio Mello M

Many thanks for your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our aim to create lasting memories of your stay. Our little gem is beautiful and has the most exquisite views in Plettenberg Bay. Thank you for your kind words about the staff. Laula is an important part of the team. She cares a great deal about her guests and performs her job with so much dedication and passion.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to us.

Kind regards
MJ, Rosslee and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Warm welcome at this well positioned hotel over looking the bay. Lovely room, all the usual facilities with a free mini bar! Breakfast was very good but they do charge extra for coffee but not tea (a bit unusual) We had dinner twice in the restaurant and afternoon tea, all were excellent. You can walk down to the beach with no bother and we also walked up to the main street completely fine. Good base for exploring Plett. The lady in the hotel shop is very helpful and has extensive local knowledge on car hire/restaurants/tourist sites etc.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank KHA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 May 2017

Dear KHA1

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel's location is prime. Situated on the cliffs of Look-Out-Rocks and watching over two breathtaking beaches. As you mentioned, it is a short stroll into town if you fancy exploring our beautiful coastal town. The mini bar is a great addition. All normal filter coffee and tea is included in breakfast, however specialty coffees like an cappuccino or an espresso is an extra. It should have been explained to you. Apologies if that is not the case. I will share your lovely feedback with Cathy, the lady who assisted you in the boutique.

I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The Plettenberg.

Kind regards
MJ, Rosslee and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

The Plettenberg is a beautiful hotel in a great location. We stayed for 2 nights while exploring the Garden Route. Our room was in the annex, not the main hotel. The room was surprisingly small in comparison with all of the other hotels we stayed in. There is no lift. We are able-bodied travellers but I work with elderly and people with medical conditions. I was annoyed that a newish building was not set up for anyone with a disability. The staff had to carry heavy bags upstairs.
We ate dinner in the hotel one night. It was fine but had no atmosphere. We chose another place (Emily Moon River Lodge) for the second meal and loved it. Breakfasts were very good and we sat outside looking at the bay.
On the whole, we found Plettenberg Bay unappealing. Houses have been bought to rent or to resell rather than to live in and it shows. (Knysna, further along the Garden route had a completely different feel to it and was charming.) We walked the beach, explored the area and found a wonderful pub in neighbouring Kerboomstrand for a Sunday lunch with live music. However, It was the only part of our trip that was disappointing

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear DMSG

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am very sorry to hear that most of your experience in Plettenberg Bay and at the hotel did not live up to your expectation. The sizes of the rooms depends on what you have reserved. Our more spacious rooms are our Suites. Thank you for your feedback about the lift. It is something that we will consider. We want this hotel to be accessible to all guests.

Your feedback is important to us. I will discuss each comment with regards to your stay with my Head of Departments.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any queries with regards to this matter.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 x night stay at this marvellous hotel. Hotel room was a good size with a separate lounge area and a great view of the Indian Ocean.
Breakfast is served outside on the Poolside , with the most wonderful view of Plettenberg beach & first class service. The Egg Benedict is well worth trying.
The lounge areas are beautifully decorated and very comfortable , perfect for a pre or post dinner drink.

Room Tip: Well worth requesting a sea view , as some rooms face the main road.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowbrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear mowbrab

Thank you for your glowing review.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast offering is good and the fact that you have the best view in Plett, just adds to it. The views are amazing. Thank you for your kind words about the quality of the food and the service your received.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews