We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, nice location but a sterile, pretentious place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2017

The Plettenberg is a beautiful hotel in a great location. We stayed for 2 nights while exploring the Garden Route. Our room was in the annex, not the main hotel. The room was surprisingly small in comparison with all of the other hotels we stayed in. There is no lift. We are able-bodied travellers but I work with elderly and people with medical conditions. I was annoyed that a newish building was not set up for anyone with a disability. The staff had to carry heavy bags upstairs.
We ate dinner in the hotel one night. It was fine but had no atmosphere. We chose another place (Emily Moon River Lodge) for the second meal and loved it. Breakfasts were very good and we sat outside looking at the bay.
On the whole, we found Plettenberg Bay unappealing. Houses have been bought to rent or to resell rather than to live in and it shows. (Knysna, further along the Garden route had a completely different feel to it and was charming.) We walked the beach, explored the area and found a wonderful pub in neighbouring Kerboomstrand for a Sunday lunch with live music. However, It was the only part of our trip that was disappointing

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear DMSG

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am very sorry to hear that most of your experience in Plettenberg Bay and at the hotel did not live up to your expectation. The sizes of the rooms depends on what you have reserved. Our more spacious rooms are our Suites. Thank you for your feedback about the lift. It is something that we will consider. We want this hotel to be accessible to all guests.

Your feedback is important to us. I will discuss each comment with regards to your stay with my Head of Departments.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any queries with regards to this matter.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 x night stay at this marvellous hotel. Hotel room was a good size with a separate lounge area and a great view of the Indian Ocean.
Breakfast is served outside on the Poolside , with the most wonderful view of Plettenberg beach & first class service. The Egg Benedict is well worth trying.
The lounge areas are beautifully decorated and very comfortable , perfect for a pre or post dinner drink.

Room Tip: Well worth requesting a sea view , as some rooms face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowbrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear mowbrab

Thank you for your glowing review.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast offering is good and the fact that you have the best view in Plett, just adds to it. The views are amazing. Thank you for your kind words about the quality of the food and the service your received.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

The location and view are to die for but the best part is the caring management who goes out of their way to chat with all of the guests, ask them about their plans for the day and make suggestions and recommendations, and then to follow up and ask how everything was.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Terry M

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us. We will always endeavor to deliver the best service consistently.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

From the time that we arrived at The Plettenberg, it was evident that our stay was going to be exceptional. The security staff in the street were first to welcome us: Lucky had a list of all the expected guests!

We arrived early and our suite was not ready [understandably] to check-in and our luggage was gladly kept in storage. When we did arrive everything was ready and our suite was everything that we had expected.

The suite is super luxury and the view our the sea is spectacular! We spotted around thirty dolphins in the bay.
Suite 51 is the suite to request because it is on the ground level with easy access to the rim pool and the conservatory.

The service is outstanding: every member of The Plettenberg makes you very welcome...everyone greets and they know what they're about - to make their guests stay, as pleasant as possible.

The amenities are great and we were treated to a bottle of bubbly that we enjoyed whilst watching the dolphins.

Definitely the place to stay at in Plettenberg!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, Front Office Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Eugene K

Thank you for writing such a glowing review for us.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It means the world to me to receive such feedback about the service and about the staff. They do their jobs with such passion and dedication. Lucky is a superstar. He made a good impression on you and I am pleased to read that we followed through with us during your entire stay.

Our views are simply the best in Plett. Our location is great too, because you can walk to town. Plettenberg Bay itself is a lovely coastal town. It has so much to offer.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We had a very enjoyable stay for three nights with our two children at this hotel. It has a stunning location overlooking the bay and is very convenient for visiting the local attractions and the town and local restaurants. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the views from breakfast, which was particularly good, overlooking the ocean make a great start to the day.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Jules4567

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am glad to read that you had a memorable stay with us. We have the best views in Plettenberg Bay. Our location is prime. Thank you for your feedback about my team. It is them that sets us apart from any other hotel in the world.

It was lovely having you here and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the near future.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
9.4 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
274 reviews
9.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
849 reviews
0.8 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
977 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: €196 - €665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing