We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service more like an inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2017

The location and view are to die for but the best part is the caring management who goes out of their way to chat with all of the guests, ask them about their plans for the day and make suggestions and recommendations, and then to follow up and ask how everything was.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Terry M

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us. We will always endeavor to deliver the best service consistently.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for The Plettenberg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

From the time that we arrived at The Plettenberg, it was evident that our stay was going to be exceptional. The security staff in the street were first to welcome us: Lucky had a list of all the expected guests!

We arrived early and our suite was not ready [understandably] to check-in and our luggage was gladly kept in storage. When we did arrive everything was ready and our suite was everything that we had expected.

The suite is super luxury and the view our the sea is spectacular! We spotted around thirty dolphins in the bay.
Suite 51 is the suite to request because it is on the ground level with easy access to the rim pool and the conservatory.

The service is outstanding: every member of The Plettenberg makes you very welcome...everyone greets and they know what they're about - to make their guests stay, as pleasant as possible.

The amenities are great and we were treated to a bottle of bubbly that we enjoyed whilst watching the dolphins.

Definitely the place to stay at in Plettenberg!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, Front Office Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Eugene K

Thank you for writing such a glowing review for us.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It means the world to me to receive such feedback about the service and about the staff. They do their jobs with such passion and dedication. Lucky is a superstar. He made a good impression on you and I am pleased to read that we followed through with us during your entire stay.

Our views are simply the best in Plett. Our location is great too, because you can walk to town. Plettenberg Bay itself is a lovely coastal town. It has so much to offer.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to us.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We had a very enjoyable stay for three nights with our two children at this hotel. It has a stunning location overlooking the bay and is very convenient for visiting the local attractions and the town and local restaurants. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the views from breakfast, which was particularly good, overlooking the ocean make a great start to the day.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Jules4567

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am glad to read that you had a memorable stay with us. We have the best views in Plettenberg Bay. Our location is prime. Thank you for your feedback about my team. It is them that sets us apart from any other hotel in the world.

It was lovely having you here and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the near future.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

This really is a top quality hotel with amazing views across Plettenberg Bay. We stayed two nights in Premier Suites, which were beautifully decorated and had incredible views. There is great attention to detail in the design and facilities of the hotel. The hotel only has 37 rooms, which meant that the pool areas were quiet and uncrowded! We had some amazing spa treatments, which were very relaxing. The service was generally very good (although a little laid-back at times) and the staff were friendly and professional. The food at the Seafood Restaurant was excellent (particularly the cheese souffle and the seafood soup)! Breakfast was superb and served (weather permitting) on the veranda overlooking the bay.

Room Tip: Suites were extremely spacious, with the corner suite offering the best views.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Charlotte P

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us.

Our little gem is a very special place. Situated on the cliffs and overlooking two fantastic beaches. It is within walking distance to the Main Street if you want to discover town. Attention to detail is essential for the successful operation of the hotel.

Laid-back service is never acceptable and I will encourage my team to avoid such behavior. I am very sorry to read that you experienced that. Thank you for sharing it with me. On the other hand I am glad to read that you find them to be friendly and professional. I will share your feedback with them. The cheese soufflé and the seafood soup are very popular dishes and yes it is delicious. Breakfast on the terrace is the best.

I hope to welcome you back to The Plettenberg Hotel.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Spent 4 nights over Easter in the annexe section of the hotel - our room was lovely, well appointed, spacious and spotlessly clean as it was serviced twice daily. The mini bar was replenished daily too and with the turn down service in the evening, a bottle of mineral water placed on the bedside table as well as something sweet. The hotel's location could not be more perfect with most rooms having sea views and within walking distance of the town, beach and Look Out deck. Breakfast served on the sea-facing patio when the weather is fine - delicious - continental breakfast buffet with a hot breakfast which you order from the menu. Just a couple of negatives - service levels in the restaurant were not always 5 star, neither was the mineral water served in plastic bottles - glass bottles would have been far more elegant on the tables. There is a beautiful bar but the ambience was spoilt by the deafening sound of the electric blender used for mixing cocktails - surely this should be done away from the bar? All in all though, I would have no problem whatsoever in recommending the hotel and we will definitely return sometime soon.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AliceCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear AliceCapeTown

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always lovely to receive feedback. All feedback is very important to us. It enables to us to look at areas where we can improve.

Our location is prime. It is situated on the cliffs of Look Out Rocks and overlooks two beautiful beaches. This small little town on the Garden Route is a little beauty. It has developed a lot over the years. We are very proud of our product and it is a beacon in town.

All the areas of concerned will be looked at and discussed with the various Head of Departments. We will address it and work on resolving it as soon as possible.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Plettenberg.

Kind regards
MJ and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
744 reviews
9.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
547 reviews
9.4 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
374 reviews
0.8 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
912 reviews
26.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: €149 - €493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing