We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,670)
Filter reviews
1,670 results
Traveller rating
1,467
155
30
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,467
155
30
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush lodge plunge pool white lion game reserve our honeymoon overlooking the lake hot water bottles land rover whole experience fantastic experience garden route bush walk three nights elusive leopard safari experience outdoor shower out of this world
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 1,670 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Spent 3 days at Pumba at end of 15 days in South Africa. Great way to end our first holiday in this lovely country. Friendly, helpful and attentive staff. Super food and spacious, sumptuous accommodation. Knowledgeable and skillful game wardens. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jmoore903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We had a very warm welcome, with iced drinks and a hot towels. Our rooms were magnificent, with great views of the lake, plunge pools and terraces, "This is the life"! Fabulous views of the lake.Lovely lunch: Cauliflower soup; Melon and Parma ham; fish Goujons; venison kebabs. Safaris were so well led: We saw lions; giraffe; impala; warthog; elephant; and the highlight on "night" safari - a leopard! We got back to our room at about 6:30pm - in darkness at this time in South Africa. We rushed to get ready for dinner, and, rashly ignoring instructions did not phone for a ranger to escort us to us to the restaurant. Foolish decision! We got there alright, but apparently the leopard from earlier on had taken up residence on our boardwalk and was about 10 metres from our room when we foolishly walked out and went to dinner. Listen to instruction is the message!! A great trip and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We've just spent two fantastic nights at Pumba Lodge as part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations. From the moment we arrived and walked through the lounge/dining room onto the deck to see the water shimmering and an elephant bathing on the opposite shore to when we left today it has been amazing! The game drives with Mike have been extremely informative and good fun (even in the rain last night). His knowledge is unbelievable. The staff generally have been fantastic. We really couldn't have asked for more (well maybe no rain!)

Stayed: March 2018
Thank landk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The rooms were amazing, with a glass shower overlooking the lake, an enormous bath and private plunge pool.

The daily drives were informative and exciting made even better by our new guide (we were his first clients) - Brian, he had a great sense of humour and was highly knowledgable about the plant life and animals.

The food could have been better, the evening meals a little repetitive and bland. Breakfast was amazing though.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms offered the same quality, just differed in size.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sp2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The most incredible place! The rooms are gorgeous, staff are lovely and our ranger was amazing! The food is absolutely delicious, and there was so much of it! Their hot chocolate was the beat after an evening game drive! The game drives were fantastic and so varied, our ranger was so knowledgeable and funny it made our trip! On our first drive we saw four of the big five getting to see a leopard up close. The spa was also lovely we both had a massage and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank c0lleenmarieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews