We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,620)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveller rating
1,421
152
30
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,421
152
30
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush lodge plunge pool white lion our honeymoon game reserve overlooking the lake hot water bottles land rover whole experience fantastic experience three nights bush walk garden route elusive leopard outdoor shower out of this world safari experience
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Cannot recommend Pumba highly enough for it's situation, luxurious suites and customer service...we were made to feel special from the moment we arrived at the gates to our send off. Fabulous game viewing and would recommend trying out some of the additional activities in offer. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sue5872016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Sue5872016

Thank you kindly for sharing your great experience at Pumba Private Game Reserve. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality and thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to you return.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Wonderful experience, fantastic accommodation, food and staff. The morning and afternoon safari drives were excellent, our guide was very informative and we managed to see 4 of the big 5. Would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SueWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear SueWakefield

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your interactions with the animals. We do pride ourselves in excellent customer services and it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed such.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We visited Pumba Water Lodge for three nights as part of a two-week trip to South Africa and married at sunset on the pier on our second evening. Everything about Pumba was exceptional, from the warm welcome on arrival to the bedroom suite with its view over the watering hole, the game drives with our knowledgeable and enthusiastic ranger, the cuisine and, not least, the red carpet treatment we enjoyed relating to our ‘tying the knot’ there ... we were treated like royalty and could not have asked for a more memorable experience. We can not recommend Pumba highly enough and hope to return one day.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AndrewSemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear AndrewSemple

Thank you for supplying us with your feedback and for choosing to make us apart of your special memories of tying the knot. We are thrilled to have met and exceeded all your expectations and we look forward to celebrating an anniversary with you!

Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

The perfect end to our Garden Route holiday.
Fantastic accommodation looking out over a large water hole.
Staff dote on you - nothing is too much trouble.
Excellent food and drink.
It’s really all about the game reserve though. Our ranger was Jason and a lovely guy / more importantly knew the place like the back of his hand.
5 star and deserves it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Luke J

It is wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic experience here at Pumba. As a team, we continuously work on maintaining our standard of service to ensure each and every experience is a memorable one.

It is something we constantly work towards and your feedback serves as a wonderful encouragement to the staff. Thank you again for sharing experience and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in September at the water lodge and if we had stayed for 30 days I still would not have wanted to leave! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the whole experience and service was second to none.
Started well, shown to our excellent room and while unpacking an elephant walked out the bush to the waterhole and from that moment we were entranced. Room, bathroom, pool, balcony were faultless. We didn't use the outside shower or plunge pool as we were visiting in the Sept (Spring).
Breakfast, lunch and dinner all very well organised and presented. Choice is limited but I prefer that, do a few things well and they did.
Service from the staff was fantastic and the many small touches made a real difference to the experience, hot towels, drinks on returning from safari. Night time hot water bottles , welcome gift in room and so it goes on.
We went to see the animals in a natural habitat and were not disappointed, Dean was our ranger and took us on all our game drives. We could not have wished for a better guide, Dean was the key to making our stay at Pumba so memorable. His passion and love of the wildlife is infectious and we found ourselves learning while all laughing. The Landrover had wet weather capes and hot water bottles which we needed on a couple of drives. To finish the trip Dean had an evening dinner with us and another couple who were on the game drives with us which was a lovely way to finish the stay.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank The_Sids_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review, insight and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us and will certainly pass on the appreciation to Dean. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews