We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great safari experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We had a fantastic family holiday with friends and were extremely well looked after with great food and exceptional attention to detail. Even though it was winter, which was very well compensated for by the roaring fires and hot water bottles, it was warm during the day and we saw and did everything we wished to. we felt it was a really good time of year to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We are certainly proud of our outstanding location, roaring fires and hot water bottles. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us in winter and braving the cold!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 246 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Pumba Game Reserve made our holiday to South Africa. The place is absolutely amazing and so are the safari animals and staff. The lodges were pure luxury and could rival any 5 star hotel. We expected them to be basic but this was not the case. Extra details such as chocolates on pillows and hot water bottles placed in your bed at night. We loved every minute and went as a family of adults. The game drives were full of fun and we saw all the Big5. I highly recommend this as a holiday destination and you won't be disappointed. Small reserve in terms of number of guests which made it relaxing.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dannic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you kindly for sharing your great experience at Pumba. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality and thank you again for your recommendation. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Both my hubby and I had a fantastic stay in the Bush lodge. The staff were wonderful and could not do enough. Our ranger Kelly was excellent, extremely welcoming, knowledgeable and she made our stay all the more enjoyable. The experiences on our drives were unbelievable. Both my hubby and I agree that our brief stay in Pumba was the highlight of our honeymoon. Thank you for that experience - we will never forget it!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiKerryOConnor870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

We are so privileged to be a part of your honeymoon and then to be the best part of it - even better! Thank you for your review and we will certainly pass your appreciation onto Kelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Top location with excellent rooms and great views.
Rangers all very knowledgeable and helpful, always found some animals for us.
Saw one of the famous white lions along with 3 more of the big five. No leopard but that's not a big surprise.
Restaurant and seating areas were excellent and the food was fantastic.
Just go there.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

It's so fantastic to receive such positive feedback, thank you! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time with us, please do return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Fantastic trip. Staff are so friendly and helpful. The rangers very knowledgeable and entertaining. Food and wine were excellent, the accomodation was first class. Only downside was we should have booked longer!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C793CGjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Pumba Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Your feedback is so important to us. Sounds like you had the best holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
12.8 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
374 reviews
34.4 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
35.2 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
18.8 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
547 reviews
35.9 km away
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
#1 of 4 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumba Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumba Private Game Reserve

Address: 2) Highlands (just off N | (100 kms from Port Elizabeth), Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Grahamstown
Price Range: €496 - €1,219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pumba Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to the sounds of the African bushveld as the sun makes its appearance on the horizon, bringing with it the prospect of another perfect day. Eco friendly Pumba, a proud member of the Green Leaf Conservation Initiative, is set in the malaria-free Eastern Cape and provides an intimate African safari experience never to be forgotten. The reserve is home to Africa's Big Five as well as rare white lion, hippo, hyena, cheetah, giraffes, various antelope and more than 300 bird species. Feel the heartbeat of nature as you explore the reserve in custom landrovers or on guided walking safaris. Water Lodge offers 12 waterfront chalets overlooking Lake Cariega while Bush Lodge is set on a floodplain with scenic mountain views, offering 11 luxury thatch and glass chalets. All Chalets open onto private game-viewing decks boasting plunge pools and outdoor showers. The indulgent bathrooms offer free-standing tubs and double basins, and each room is fitted with an earthenware fireplace. Whether dining indoors or under the starlit sky, meals at Pumba are simply sublime. Enjoy African fusion cuisine with an Eastern Cape flair, complemented by a superb selection of local wines from our Director's Cellar. Revitalise body and mind in the Soul Spa or enjoy a workout in the glass-enclosed gym at Bush Lodge. Other activities include bird watching, bass fishing, stargazing, archery as well as nearby horse riding and golf. An hour from Port Elizabeth and 15 minutes from Grahamstown. WiFi. TGCSA 5-star Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pumba Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumba Private Game Reserve Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing