The prison was designed in 1835 by the Royal Engineers. The cells are arranged in a semicircle and has a guard-house overlooking the cells. It is part of the Albany Museum Complex but is only open by appointment. We did not make an appointment and had to settle for pictures of the outside. The building was declared a National Monument on 9 September 1937.