We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was pretty darn good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand View Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wasilla
Reviewed 5 August 2011

It was clean and rooms were fine. The management seemed fine and view in the back nice. Just what we were looking for. Maybe a bit pricey..bit most of Alaska lodging is. Would return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njplayafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

The customer service didnt exist. Cold and unintrested. The quality of the Hotel itself is very bad. it is a -5 star hotel. The bad felt like the ground, the Box springs were the matress. The resturaunt was closed, there was not food. The service.....there was no service. No pictures in the rooms were on the walls....it was like you were stuck in office cubical on a concrete slab. Looks good on the outside, on the inside it is pathetic for any kind of Hotel ratings.....If you are going to get into the hotel business...at least make and effort, Very Unamerican.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ANCHORAGETRUTH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stayed one night 5/13/11. 2nd floor room looked ok, nothing special, things like an iron but no ironing board, no coffee maker. Lower level has dining room/bar/lounge. Middle of the night there is a noisy fight......finally back to sleep. Next, area dogs all start going nuts barking, yelping and nothing done to quiet them. Very little sleep. Complained to rude desk clerk and her answer was, we document it so the police will take action on the dogs. Police documentation certainly isn't going to do us any good! Nothing in regard to help the customer who got no sleep or adjust the bill of over $125.00 accordingly or even offer breakfast. No apology. Save your sanity and go somewhere else...........no sense of customer service or appreciation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank iflyd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

My wife just went down to the laundry room (adjacent to the bar on the lower level). As she turned on the lights, a drunk who was passed out there said, "Is this your f&%#in' truck? Turn out the lights."

She told him it was a laundry room. Then he seemed to recall that the police had left him there. I guess that is better than letting him drive home. So much for security!

The fixtures in the rooms are cheap. If you like to read in bed, bring a flashlight...the lights (permanently attached to the wall) are not exactly well placed...you can't reach them from the bed!

One of the first things you notice, when you walk into the lobby, are all the signs explaining the extra charges you will be hit with if you break the rules. Now the rules are practical, but there is a really heavy negative vibe here.

The entertainment factor here is high...our television stopped working. Never mind, there's not much soundproofing in the walls, so we could listen to our neighbors. Funny that they couldn't hear me when I banged on the wall to thank them for waking us up at 6 AM. OK, almost forgot. If you stay on the roadside of the hotel, you can enjoy the constant rumble of traffic going by. Sound insulation on the windows isn't that good either!

The staff here is...hmmm...well, indifferent is a nice way of putting it. I wouldn't exactly call them friendly or helpful.

This qualifies as one of the worst places I have stayed.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Basman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This is the second time I stayed here and I was hoping it would be better than the first but it wasn't. Like the first time, there were no towels in the bathroom and housekeeping obviously needs some training. I had to switch rooms because there was dried pee all over the toilet seat. The first time I stayed there, a couple months prior, it was for a kids basketball tournament - we couldn't get housekeeping for the two days we were there; we were told that since there was kids in the room they wouldn't be cleaning it; no fresh towels, keys never worked, etc. Then this time I look on my bank account and my room charge is higher than I was told so when I called and asked they said it was because I switched rooms to a room with 2 beds...hello, only because it was the only room available and my original room was dirty! they didn't credit me the difference but still, horrible customer service, horrible housekeeping, horrible all around.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CaraDawn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasilla
5.8 km away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
3.0 km away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
27.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
14.3 km away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
101 reviews
2.0 km away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Inn and Suites

Address: 2900 E Parks Hwy, Wasilla, AK 99654-7362
Region: United States > Alaska > Wasilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wasilla
Price Range: €87 - €163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand View Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand View Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Wasilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing