We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your go to lunch spot if your going fishing or kayaking”

Magpies on the Fly Coffe Shop
Ranked #14 of 32 Restaurants in Valdez
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Magpies has regular lunch fare but features box lunches for those taking day trips on fishing or kayak expeditions. They do good work.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 934patd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Maggie is great and she makes great coffee. She is also an excellent baker and hre desserts are tops. Hopefully you can also catch Caitlyn in there working and get her to play a little ukelele for you.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Victor N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

I had read another person's review of their kayaking trip, and they mentioned they ordered sack lunches from Magpie's, which is located right next door. So the day before, we ordered our lunches (ham and turkey sandwiches), and drove there early the next morning to pick them up and grab a quick breakfast. I know it's late in the season, but they were out of several items on their menu, which was frustrating. How hard is it to cross it off so people know this, instead of guessing at what IS still available. We finally settled on a piece of quiche for me, and an egg sandwich for my husband. Both were very good. Coffee also good, and we enjoyed the sack lunches while on our trip.
For those trying to save some money, Valdez is not the best place to do so. Our breakfasts and sack lunches came to a total of $34. Not terrible, but not cheap either. But it was super convenient having them right next door to our kayak company, and the food was good. Would recommend, it's a cute little place!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank ParksRCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Thanks for the yummy sack lunches for our Paddle trip with Anadyr Adventures - recommended!!! Call head or order on line the night before.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank cdavis72017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

If you happen to be in Valdez and want a coffee, pastry, or breakfast burrito, this is the place to be.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magpies on the Fly Coffe Shop also viewed

 

Been to Magpies on the Fly Coffe Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing