We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Y Mar Reef Resta
Nearby Hotels
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Bay Resort(Marsa Alam)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$152
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaz Grand Resta(Marsa Alam)
US$104
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$85
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,939)
Filter reviews
1,939 results
Traveller rating
927
678
205
83
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
927
678
205
83
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla casachef abdofishanimation teambeach bargreat holidaytwo weeksfriendly hotelspecial thanksoctopusred flagclean towelsboat trippastabeach shoesbeautiful searice
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,939 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stayed at Resta Reef for 2 weeks in March in room 4008 lovely sea views, close to the pools, beach, beach bar and reception etc, Moustafa our cleaner did an amazing job always mopped and thoroughly cleaned everyday, nothing was too much for him even teaching us Arabic such a happy man a credit to the hotel and his towel art is brilliant. Elsaid in reception made an effort everyday to go round and check all the holidaymakers were happy, or if there was anything that he could do if there was an issue (never come across this before, great customer service). Most of the bar staff are so happy and helpful great at their jobs especially Hamada. Mr Hisham always around the restaurant and bars is also a credit, we invited him to sit with us at dinner one evening so we could talk to him about single use plastic at the hotel, he again very happy and willing to listen also a star when my illness put my back out (again) brought my dinner to my table for me and sorted my water out too as I was just about able to stand/walk. All the staff went all out to help and ensure any help I needed was given.
The food always hot and constantly freshened up, clean restaurant, great chefs and waiters. No problems with the drinks and cocktails. Water always available always a supply of snacks in different areas when the main restaurant wasnt serving either breakfast, lunch or dinner.
There are some issues that only gave the hotel 4 stars instead of 5 the use of single use plastic cups and straws!!!!! We wanted to use our travel mugs as single use plastic is a massive problem around the world but we were not allowed. They stop people walking on the coral to protect it but plastic is just as bad and needs to irradicated, the beach is well maintained and there is a pier to enable snorkelling without walking on the coral (when it is not to choppy, which is the case quite often unfortunatley) , there is also a lagoon to snorkle in or as we called it 'the baby pool ) Mahmoud around the pool/towel area maintain and look after everything to a high standard as do the whole pool team. The only issue with the pool is that the heated pool with the swim up bar is way too hot, the cold pool was better and refreshing. Met some fantastic people and staff during our stay, the hotel has been taken over and you can see that they are making many improvements/upgrades (our hope is that plastic use will be stopped with the new takeover too). The animation staff were great, shame a few left just before we came home, could do with more going on in the evening as after 10pm it all stops even though the bar is open until midnight. It is very much out of the way so very little to do outside of the hotel, great for a quiet relaxing break.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abd ElAzim M, Manager at Sol Y Mar Reef Resta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear guest Thank you for choosing SolYmar Reef Resta to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation to continuously improve the service we offer. Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. We are looking forward to see you again. Best regards Ashraf Ayed Resorts General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Small secluded hotel (larger sister hotel next door) but much preferred Resta as we were able to wander into the sea and look at the fish but DO take shoes as its very rocky. Food it pretty standard, always found something to eat from omelette to salads which were nice and a good selection of fruit, pasta is always an option. Staff were pleasant enough, they love the English! Evenings not allot happening but it did get dark around 7.00 and a bit nippy too, but after going to this side of Egypt several times I would always return end of March as its about 29/32 with a nice breeze and came back with a lovely sun tan!

Room Tip: We had room 4111 which was super overlooking the sea, its only two story high so not lots of steps and all have a balcony
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Freeman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abd ElAzim M, Manager at Sol Y Mar Reef Resta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear guest Thank you for choosing SolYmar Reef Resta to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation to continuously improve the service we offer. Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. We are looking forward to see you again. Best regards Ashraf Ayed Resorts General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

rooms very tired and dirty our room was anyway. the first room we were in had filthy pillows with yellow and brown sweat stains on them, although they were changed when i spoke to reception staff . we changed rooms and the toilet was leaking for 4 days it was finally fixed but nobody came to mop the floor with bleach or anything so we were left with a bathroom that smelt like a public urinal. the room was thick with dust, we just felt dirty the 2 whole weeks we were there. the food was disgusting especially breakfast although there was an egg station but 2 weeks of eating eggs was to much, one breakfast morning i resorted to mash potatoes on toast to eat. the choice was very limited and poor. when we first went in the restaurant i just thought oh well maybe it is quality over quantity but no it was neither, and those people that say the food is good must graze on grass at home and any food is a treat for them. the drinks were served in tiny glasses and were finished in 2 gulps, they only serve wine in the restaurant at dinner and lunch times, so if you want wine in between these times forget it. the staff were very good and would do anything for you, they work so hard. the views and the sun were great but that is it. if you can afford to go to a 5 star hotel go because this hotel i would only give 2 stars. there is a shuttle bus to the port that costs 5 euro return per person you can book this at the taxi desk in reception.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bigdave11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Beautiful, small/medium sized family friendly resort. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Phantastic food, given the more than reasonable price that we paid! Best value for money ever!!!
Lovely animation!
Amazing house reef. Extra goodie! Right at the beach there is a huge natural coral pool just which begins right at the beach waterline (photos). This natural basin is protected by the edge of the reef and thus you can enjoy snorcelling/swimming in calm waters even when the wind is too strong for swimming from the jetty (red flag).
Overall, this was the best value for money we ever experienced in more than 20 years vacationing in Egypt.
We spent five dream weeks for relatively little money!!!

P.s. We made two phantastic shoredives with Seaworld, a nearby Italian managed dive-center. We will definately return, to the resort and to Seaworld!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with seaview facing the poolbar.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abd ElAzim M, Manager at Sol Y Mar Reef Resta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear guest Thank you for choosing SolYmar Reef Resta to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation to continuously improve the service we offer. Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. We are looking forward to see you again. Best regards Ashraf Ayed Resorts General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

A lovely stay at the Resta Reef, where I was greeted every morning by staff with smiles on their faces. Nothing was too much trouble, and there's a lovely atmosphere at this hotel. It's not a big grand hotel (go next door if that's what you're after) but honestly this suited me down to the ground. The rooms are basic and there are a few things that look a bit tired but it's good value for money, guaranteed sunshine, and I'd go back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SaraMarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abd ElAzim M, Manager at Sol Y Mar Reef Resta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear guest Thank you for choosing SolYmar Reef Resta to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation to continuously improve the service we offer. Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. We are looking forward to see you again. Best regards Ashraf Ayed Resorts General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews