We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hakamanu Lodge(Tuherahera)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Pension Hotu(Tikehau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
223
12
6
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
12
6
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschris and gretakite surfingpaddle boardingcoconut crabmanta raysother guestsbird islanddeep sea fishingfrench polynesiabora borajean francoishis wifecoral wallslunch and dinnerunique experiencelocal diveorganic farm
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We found our paradise ,
A short picturesque flight from Tahiti we arrived at Tikihau airport greeted with a Wonderful scented lay , so very relaxed which is the only way to start your holiday to Ninamu.
Arriving at the shore of our tropical oasis by boat on a perfect summers day sky powder blue and the water so clear we could see the fish swimming beneath. A beautiful white beach with thatched bungalows placed perfectly to create a tranquil peaceful setting.
The friendly warm staff hand us a cold fresh coconut as they invite us in to the beautifully rustic hand made resort. Ahhh paradise.
After a beautiful lunch of fresh fish made with love by JF we get taken for a tour of the grounds which lead us to our amazing bungalow. Made with all organic materials from the local area. "It just keeps getting better."
Natural light beams through the palm trees while walking through the tropical path ways that lead to our private beach.
Each day filled with sun drenched walks along the coral reef that surrounds the island, boat trips out to coral reefs to swim with the manta's ever so magestic and graceful and endless colourful fish , kayaking ,paddle boarding , fishing , snorkelling with turtles and endless sealift. kite surfing , swimming ..............
Or just lazing on the beach winding down from a life where we forget to take a breath and notice the beauty that surrounds us .
Well Ninamu has a "mana" energy that connects you to all that is beautiful and organic on an instinctual level.
There are amazingly colourful coconut crabs that call Ninamu there home. Inquisitive and harmless they are def a funny topic on the island.
Every meal is filled with endless flavour and made with love, you really do get spoilt Everyone meets on the beach for breathtaking sunsets and thirst quenching cocktail, the staff make everyone feel so welcomed and part of the family or this beautiful oasis.
The staff are amazing always there to make sure your Ninamu experience is a memory cherished and wanting more.
Greta, Chris, Mark ,Jean F Kaina Mana, Coco Marie, Viana , Tita all bring there individual essence of love , to make this a very special time. It truly is a dream come true. Thank you Ninamu ❤️

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 651tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninamu, Manager at Tikehau Ninamu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thanks for your awesome review!
It was great having you here and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

where to start? it is just amazing! This was exactly what we were looking for, off the grid, beautiful blue green waters, bungalows that are just amazing in themselves!
We did some diving while there also, however, I have to say, you can see almost as much just snorkeling. We want to say a special thanks to Chris, Mark, and Chefy!
They make you feel as though you are family, and the food was amazing too!
We had the pleasure of meeting an incredible artist who was there at the time and actually purchased a painting from him of the exact spot we had been looking out at every day! We will treasure these memories and are looking forward to coming back very soon! Thank you for sharing your beautiful piece of paradise with us.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lisahamilton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninamu, Manager at Tikehau Ninamu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for your kind review, and thanks for staying with us. I hope you will come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

It is really hard to add much to what people have already said, but I want to thank Chris, Greta, Chefy, Mark and Mary for a fantastic time, amazing food and especially desserts. As others have said if you want a luxury resort on your own island this is the place, on the other hand want food from a chain hotel, everything that is hotel chain like this might not be the place for you. We fished, we dove, we snorkeled, we watched sun rises and sets on the water (no green flash though), we slept really well and we eat amazing food with local ingredients where possible all with a French flare. I am very relaxed and well rested and I hope to be back. I extensively read all of the reviews before picking Ninamu and all the good things everyone wrote below are 100% true.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveforwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninamu, Owner at Tikehau Ninamu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Hi Guys. Thanks for the review
You know having built the place from scratch and being resourceful as possible it's very soothing to hear that people appreciate simple things in life designed to make people feel at one with surroundings
We try hard to make people believe that life is great and to appreciate every moment
Most of the time we get it right
Sometimes training is harder than anticipated
Fact is 95 percent of the world get it
Enjoy life. It's a luxury
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

From the moment we set eyes on Ninamu we were hooked. Thatched-roof bungalows, swaying palms, pink and white sand and an azure blue lagoon.

The owner Chris and his lovely wife Greta, have hand-built the eco-resort using all locally sourced materials. You will fall in love with the intimacy of the individual bungalows with tree branches for supports, coral walls and thatched roofing. Coconut crabs busy themselves beneath the wooden boardwalks that stretch out to your rooms - every walk to your room is different.

This is off-piste real holidaying, and as other guests have commented, it is tempting to keep it a secret. We have holidayed the last four years in Tahiti, but Ninamu blew us away. It changes all your preconceptions of what the perfect holiday is all about.

Ninamu has a very laid back vibe which is becoming harder to find each year, as the world becomes more demanding. If your definition of 5-star is a telephone by the bed to order 24-hour room service and watch Pay TV - then this is not for you. This is a private oasis filled with friendly attentive staff who love to show you everything their island paradise has to offer. The beds are so comfortable it is insane that we ever got out of them!

Each day there are two complimentary activities - usually a fishing one and a snorkelling one. To snorkel for as long as we wanted to with friendly manta rays in 10’ of clear water was bucket list! We swam all around them and the mantas inquisitively came up to see us. I had previously paid to dive to see the mantas at Bora Bora and only 2 out of our 5 diver groups saw one. It was down at 30’ in poor visibility, and it shied away as soon as it saw us.

We also visited an organic farm where Ninamu provisions a lot of its veggies from, and spent time swimming and sun baking at a nearby blue lagoon. Another day we went to a Jurassic Park like island called ‘Bird Island’ and saw the myriad of birds in amongst the tropical jungle. One of the young guests assured me there was even a Red-Faced Booby Bird there! Extra charters can be arranged for a modest price for game fishing for Marlin, Tuna, Mahi Mahi and Wahoo.

It takes a couple of days to wean yourself off Facebook and world news - and then you will ‘get’ Ninamu. Your iPhone is for nothing other than taking photos and your reminder schedule stays the same - ‘Relax and have Fun’. You can do as much, or as little as you want. Other free activities were surfing, kite surfing, kayaking, paddle boarding and sailing.

‘Cheffie’ - Jean Francois, specialises in his own unique Tahitian/French style of cooking which never ceases to amaze. There are no a-la carte menus. The lunch and dinner menus change each meal. Local seafood is featured, and you can ask for any special dietary requirements that need to be catered for. The wood-fired pizza night was a highlight using the coral-crusted pizza oven on the beach. The Omelette ‘Magnifique’ is a secret mix with tomato, cheese, strip bacon and chorizo inside!

Meals are included in the tariff, so when you take into account the price of paying for 3 meals a day plus paying for activities, the major resorts are far more expensive.

You can have complete privacy, but chances are you will quickly overcome the modern norm of avoiding eye contact with other guests, and become great friends with them. Everyone enjoys one another’s company, you share stories from all the day’s activities, plus all your crazy stories from around the world.

3 days is never enough in paradise. Our advice would always be to stay as long as you possibly can - and then extend by 4 days!

Mauru’uru Ninamu - we had a ball !!!!! Can’t wait to come back :)

Room Tip: The bungalows with the ocean views are lovely to lie in bed and watch the sunrise.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GRANT AND LISA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninamu, Manager at Tikehau Ninamu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

We can't wait to have you guys back again too!!
Thanks for your review...and stay longer next time :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Ninamu I was told meant "Blue or Azur" in Tahitian ... well it was certainly that ! The most beautiful crystal clear blue/ azur / turquoise water surrounding a Paradise .The name summed it up . The owner Chris and his wife - the lovely Greta could not be more gracious or accommodating .
during our 8 night stay we were thoroughly spoilt - the agony of choice to lounge around in the beach cabanas , go kitesurfing , swim with mantas , sip cocktails at the bar , go for an amazing dive at the pass with abundant sea life ... the list was endless .
The bungalows are divine, everyone of them different from each other with beautiful fittings all handmade with such care and skill you can feel the love that went into the making of this amazing resort
The staff are wonderful , the chef is amazing .We would only ever recommend a place we were destined to go back to - this is one of those places, unique in the world where we would go back to again and again .

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bevswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninamu, Manager at Tikehau Ninamu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

We loved having you as a guest! Thank you for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews