We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toothsome fare served with a smile”

TGB Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 80 Restaurants in Timaru
Price range: US$3 - US$23
Cuisines: European, Healthy, Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: TGB (Gastropub) is located in historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. It's been operating since 1875 for obvious reasons: southern hospitality with exceptional food and drinks. Our food grub is no-nonsense yummy and generous. Come on down, and chow down with the food. You'd be so glad you did!!
Reviewed 27 February 2018

The Grosvenor Hotel's bar meals must rate among st the best in New Zealand - they are wholesome filling and quick to be delivered by friendly helpful staff.
Where else can you get a main meal and pudding for $15???
Free car parking and a clean pleasant bar.
I challenge travellers to try and better this establishment - they will find it difficult to do.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmuskett2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at TGB Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Greetings Jmuskett2018

Thank you kindly for your kind words.

It meant the world to all of us here at The Grosvenor.

Do come again.

Faithfully

Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018

Service was great and the food was excellent. The salmon was well cooked and had a really tasty lemon sauce to go with, the best part was the crispy skin. It was the best salmon I have tasted while staying in Timaru. The seafood platter was tasty and the fish tasted fresh, it all tasted fresh. The light batter let the fish stand out. All around the food was great.

Thank Ashmcteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at TGB Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Greetings Ashmcteller

Thank You!

Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Friendly welcome, nice atmosphere. And a varied menu. Something to suit everyone, and make me a ant to go back again and again. AND all $12 and $15 of you want apple pie. So we order and the meals came ... and they were spot on.
Really, why would you go anywhere else? Only wish I lived closer!
Thanks for a great lunch Ü

Thank smiliekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at TGB Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Greetings Smiliekiwi

You put a smile on our faces and it makes all the hardwork worth the while.

Do come again.

From all of us at The Grosvenor, happy holidays!!

Faithfully

Ping Lim (the Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We do not live in Timaru but go there approx. once a month. So the TGB, being off the main road, was not known to us until a friend recommended it to us. And are we glad that we went! Had lunch there today - the roast of the day (super tender beef and veggies) as well as a delicious apple pie for dessert - and all of that for just $15! Great food, great prices, super friendly staff - what more can you ask for? I'm so tired of being ripped off at many eateries, so this was a great find. We will definitely go again and again....there is much to choose from on an extensive lunch menu, and looking at the evening menu on their website, there is something for everyone. I can imagine that the atmosphere must be great in the evenings - a lovely old restored venue with wholesome food. C'mon, give it a try!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at TGB Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Greetings Suzette d

Thank you kindly for your encouragement and support.

That made our day indeed.

We look forward to hear more of your comments to further improve our meals for the coming 2018.

Faithfully

Ping Lim (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

While staying in the hotel, we dined on the Saturday night. I chose the 'small' ($14.99) Southern Comfort Fried Chicken with fries, salad & apricot sauce. It was a very good serving, so I was glad I didn't choose the large ($18.99)!! I got two large boneless chicken thighs that were marinated in buttermilk & then coated in the most deliciously crunchy topping. Yum!! Hubby chose the large Roast of the Day (Beef) at $18.99. He got a very good helping of roast beef, roast vege & a delicious homemade gravy, but in comparison, a very small serving of peas - probably less than a tablespoon. I had a taste of the beef & gravy & it was delicious & tender. The only thing we both thought was odd, was that the beef & gravy was served on top of the roast veges, which made them go soggy. In our opinion, the roast meat should be served 'beside' the vegetables. We did convey this to the waitress & she agreed. Next day, we had a wedding to go to in the afternoon, so decided to have lunch there. I chose the special of the Day, which was Beef Bourguignonne & mashed potatoes. Hubby chose the Button Mushroom Melt. Every single dish on the quite extensive lunch menu was just $12.00!! An absolute bargain - I believe you would be hard pushed to find a meal anywhere in NZ at such a reasonable price. My dish was so big, I couldn't finish it. The potatoes were deliciously creamy & smooth, the beef & vegetables so tender & the flavour was gorgeous. I didn't try hubbies meal as I was too full. The offer at the restaurant was $12 for a main only or $15 for any main plus dessert, which was Apple Pie. Hubby ordered that, but by the time he ate his meal & finished mine, he didn't have room! TGB, you are excellent value, & we would definitely eat there next time we are up that way again, & would certainly recommend others to do the same.

Thank SouthernFoody1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at TGB Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Greetings SouthernFoody1957

It's apparent that you love your food!! So do we^^ Afterall, we are at South Canterbury and we are known for our gracious southern hospitality. Nothing fancy but solid comfort food with a dash of smileys from our seasoned staff.

Yes, we do acknowledge that Room 101, the Queen Suite could have been better. Being a historical hotel, we never stopped in fixing up things and introducing the latest mod com to keep up with time. This being Timaru and not Queenstown, we don't have a constant flow of guests to make it a viable financial position to restore the rooms to its pristine condition.

The Grosvenor is rated a 3-star hotel by Qualmark, the Governmental rating agency. This, for us is where we are comfortable at right now in terms of offering a product mix that's value-for-money.

Bear with us and once we have extra cash reserve, no doubt we will definitely commit in bringing a superior product to the market.

Watch the space.

Faithfully

Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TGB Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to TGB Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing