We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$286
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$282
View deal
FindHotel
US$244
View deal
Expedia.comUS$282
PricelineUS$286
TravelocityUS$282
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,269)
Filter reviews
1,269 results
Traveller rating
779
305
116
42
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
779
305
116
42
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco lodge infinity pool rice fields views are stunning red dzao shuttle bus local village lao cai clouds mountains guide vietnam scenery hike cabin english trekking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 1,269 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2019

The views from Topas Ecolodge are amazing on a clear day, being so high the clouds are frequent visitors. The rooms are clean and tidy. Mostly local staff are friendly. The infinity pool is fantastic and we struggled to get our 3 year old out each afternoon, snack and drinks options available poolside at reasonable prices. Great selection for breakfast which is best outside on a clear day. Lunch and dinner options are good at very reasonable 'Western' prices, dinner around US$10 each dish. Wi-fi only available at pool and lodge which is nice to get away from the 'real world' if only for a short period of time while in the bungalows. Highly recommend to take advantage of the complimentary push bikes to cycle around the local area. Turn right when leaving the lodge, passed the 'friendly' local tribal ladies trying to sell you stuff. Mostly flat ride around the valley with wonderful views. Ensure to turn left after the 2nd school for the uphill section to Thanh Kim. Not well sigh posted but do NOT go down the steep hill towards Ban Phung (which lodge map provided incorrectly showed). If budget allows try and stay 3 nights for a relaxing time at this peaceful Oasis

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teeroy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-TEL, General Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Dear TeeroyWally,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
It is great to read that you fully enjoyed your stay, and we take good note of your comments. (The map will be adjusted)
Wishing you a pleasant journey in Vietnam.

Kind regards,

Hubert de Murard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2019 via mobile

We selected this resort and it was a highlight of our family trip in Vietnam. This place is so beautiful and relaxing! The pool is amazing and the views are so stunning! The staff here are very friendly and helpful, Highly recommend this resort!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-TEL, General Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Dear Tony N,

Thank you so much for your great review!
We are glad that you fully enjoyed your stay and appreciated service from our team members. It means a lot to us.
It would be a pleasure to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hubert de Murard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2019

There aren't many hotels in the world that can boast such a spectacular location. Topas perches atop a high peak with views of a plunging valley and undulating peaks to one side, and stunning rice terraces and local villages to the other. The views are 360 degrees and spectacular whichever way you turn.

The pool area is also fabulous, an Insta-worthy infinity pool with incredible views in to the valley below. A poolside bar means you don't need to schlep back to the main building, which is located quite a distance away.

On that note, this property would not be suitable for the less mobile or those in wheelchairs. It is a considerable walk from the entrance gate at the top of another and higher hilltop. This does afford spectacular views of the property however as you walk down into it for the first time. Rooms circle the circumference of the peak and some are quite far from the main building. Paths are uneven and can be wet and slippery (it was perpetually misty and damp whilst we were there) as well as poorly lit at night. I would say this adds to the rustic charm however, if everything was too polished it wouldn't feel right. There are even resident goats tethered up to graze within the grounds.

The rooms are certainly in-keeping with that rustic theme, but they lack amenities and are VERY cold if you're there in the winter like we were. Each standalone chalet is entirely constructed of stone, and do not retain heat. I would have hoped in an area that is often cold, they would have tried to make the rooms look and feel more warm and cozy (like they have in the main building). At night the floors especially are like walking on ice, so hope you don't need to use the bathroom at 3am!

Food was somewhat lacking, which is a shame considering the Vietnamese cuisine is so broad and delicious. The evening meal we had was a huge disappointment, I would say the worst meal we had on our Vietnam trip... Certain dishes had to be sent back as items were stone cold. Out of four, not one of us finished our food, yet no staff queried anything.

The most frustrating thing for me were the trips sold by the hotel. They know full well that the second you step out of the property you will be inundated with the local ladies, around 15 of them, wanting to accompany you and "help you" the entire duration of the 2-3 hour excursion. The ironic thing is, the trip itself is advertised as a walk to a village to meet these exact women adorned in their unique tribal attire. Instead you spend the entire walk with these ladies bending your ear with incessant inane chat and probing questions, leaving you unable to absorb the surroundings and just enjoy the walk. It even gets quite dangerous as they insist on helping you up and down slopes and through paddy trenches. One lady in her enthusiasm caused me to fall into a paddy and get my shoes, socks and feet completely drenched. Then of course, as you approach the end, the gaggle produce supposedly handmade items (which curiously you can buy anywhere in SE Asia...) and guilt trip you in to paying for them and for their "assistance" (read hinderance) on the excursion. Now you may argue this isn't the hotel's fault. Except in this case it really is. There are no other hotels in the vicinity and these locals have come to rely completely on this single hotel for income. The hotel tried to capitalise on the location and its people. If it had been approached better and managed sustainably it would have retained a more authentic experience rather than the farce it has become. What is more, the property conveniently miss this detail out of their trip description leading you to believe you are off on a wonderful hike. I find this deceiving, they know your trip will essentially be ruined and yet still take your money. It also makes me question, despite its supposed eco-credentials, just how much (if any) is given back to the local community.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rastnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-TEL, General Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2019

Dear Rastnim,

Thank you for your recent stay at Topas Ecolodge and for your detailed review.
We are happy to read that you liked our property and the beauty of the area.
Nevertheless, the problem with the neighbors ladies is much more complicated than you write. We already hire about 92 staff from surrounding villages and we do purchase supplies from them too. And yes, you will face the same issue in other places as Ta Phin or Lao Chai - Tavan near Sapa.
Anyway, it is a constructive review and we are very well aware of this and keep working on solutions to make each guests stay a memorable one.
I wish you a pleasant journey in Vietnam.

Sincerely,

Hubert de Murard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2019 via mobile

The views are amazing. The cottages are tastefully decorated. The infinity pool is a gem. The bar is cosy with a fireplace. Breakfasts excellent. Menu for dinner although very disappointing. So sad. Such a contrast to the excellent food we had elsewhere allover Asia.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank lucasjnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-TEL, General Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2019

Dear lucasjnl,

Thank you for your 4 star review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Topas Ecolodge.
Nevertheless, it i a pity that you haven't appreciated our cuisine, which is, in many opinions, tasty and generous, using the most of local vegetables and spices.

Kind regards,

Hubert de Murard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2019 via mobile

It is a break-taking View on the peak by driving around 5 hours from Hanoi. The last one hour is the road on mountain which is a bit dangerous but most the drivers are expert. Perfect for family and couple trip. Especially honeymoon trip. Moreover, The staffs are so friendly and helpful. Then they deserved the 4.8 rate from me. The remainder is food that isn't much delicious to compare to other luxury hotel or resort.
Strongly recommended!!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robertochhi567
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-TEL, General Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Dear robertochhi567,

Thank you so much for your amazing review and for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Indeed, our drivers can't speak much English but drive safely, which is our priority.
I invite you to discover our packages online if you wish to combine stay, transport and hikes.

Kind regards,

Hubert de Murard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews