We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$256
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$254
View deal
Agoda.com
US$229
View deal
Hotels.comUS$254
PricelineUS$257
TravelocityUS$254
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,260)
Filter reviews
1,260 results
Traveller rating
773
304
116
42
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
773
304
116
42
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco lodge infinity pool rice fields views are stunning peace and quiet red dzao shuttle bus lao cai hanoi clouds mountains guide scenery hike english trekking tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 1,260 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2019

We enjoyed our two night stay here, a break from our travels in the north of Vietnam.
Our bungalow was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Plenty of hot water. Wifi is available in and around the dining room/bar area. We had a nice balcony and view over the mountains. Only small thing. There were several double electric sockets but only one in each pair worked.

The food is great and plentiful. Shame the food was mainly Western. More Vietnamese dishes would have made it more interesting and authentic.

We appreaciated the free wine between 5 and 6pm.

The staff speak limited English but this should not detract from their lovely service.

Be aware there are quite long walks between the welcome house, swimming pool, dining areas and bungalows. Some is uphill. I saw electric carts circulating. No doubt you can arrange to be taken if the walk is a problem. Suggest you ask in advance.

The area immediately around Sapa seems built up and commercial.However, further out, the scenery and terraces are beautiful and it is very worthwhile coming to the area.

Overall, an excellent stay. Perhaps the property is too Western and therefore lacked local character e,g decor and menu (as above).

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Milonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-TEL, General Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Dear Milonga,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
It is always great to read reviews like your about the lovely service of our team members.
We will go through all sockets after your feedback to solve the issue.
Indeed, we now have a free flow of wines between 5pm and 6pm at our lounge.
It would be a pleasure to host you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hubert de Murard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2019

First things first - we had terrible weather. We are on a long trip with two kids (aged 7 and 4) so time isn't really an issue. We booked four nights at Topas in what was in theory one of the best seasons to be there, to give us the best chance to see the views you can see on their website but we barely saw anything but thick cloud. We had one morning where we could make out the rice terraces eventually curtailed our stay as it was just a waste of time (even though the Ts and Cs meant no refund). The resort is beautiful, the bungalows perfect for such a location. We didn't mind the lack of Wifi in the rooms, it was nice to be off the grid. Whilst we understand the concept of an Eco-lodge (employing local people etc), for the price paid, the staff, or at least someone on duty, need to be able to speak enough English to communicate effectively with the guests. We have several requests and meal orders which were not understood and ended up being incorrectly provided. The pool was a god send. Without that there was really very little to do, especially with kids, when the weather is poor. Ours enjoyed playing with the Lego and swimming but even that became a little tedious after three days of cloud. The resort will say you can use the spa if the weather is bad but that was very expensive and of course, not much use for kids. The staff were at a loss to suggest anything else to fill the time, hence why we left the place early.

In summary, if you are lucky (I'd imagine the views on the web site are as rare as ice in the desert, and views of the rice terraces at all few and far between), you'll have a great time and rate this place five out of five. But be very clear about it, if the weather is bad there's very little joy up there. The restaurant was like a morgue at lunch and dinner as everyone was so depressed about not being able to see anything beyond the balcony. The resort is not to blame for the weather but I think the website could be a little more realistic about what you might see (or not see) when staying there.

We left with a bitter taste in our mouth as the price was very high and we didn't get the experience described on the web site.

Room tip: Just keep your fingers crossed you get a view!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heidimcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-TEL, General Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Dear heidimcm,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your comments regarding our beautiful property and the pool.
It is a pity that you hadn't a joyful stay due to the weather but it isn't true to write that "the views on the web site are as rare as ice in the desert". We do have a lot of perfect days at the lodge and even if cloudy, could be incredibly beautiful (you can refer to other reviews or Instagram...).
When the sky is clear, it is paradise for families. Kids can run around and feed our goats, run after the chicken or taste our veggies from our garden. You can discover the area, the local villages, kids can see buffaloes, ducks and other animals, perfect place for families.
I wish you a pleasant journey in Vietnam.

Hubert de Murard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2019 via mobile

What a great experience. I stay in a hotel 1/3 of the year or more and this place has it down. Understanding certain expectations that was set before showing up. I would recommend this place for anyone.

It started with the friendly driver picking us up from our hotel in hanoi in a spacious van with wifi! The ride was long at 5 hours but went fast. By the time he drove us back it felt some family like to him. The logistics this place keeps is amazing. They seem to gave every guest nailed down as to activities and locations if u decide to go off property.

They staff and grounds were sparkling clear and food was great. Including is a breakfast that i would put up against any in usa. Did i mention the view from our bungalow? Each place has its own balcony admire the views of the rice patties.

The pool is heated and can get some awesome pics. Including more wifi to post as there is inly three spots you can get wifi on resort property

I also took advantage of the spa which was very nice with additional views of the rice patties as well. Very fair price for that too

Would recommend to anyone as a must do.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kawtsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2019

Lovely room, or bungalow as they call them, with a veranda to sit on and admire the views. It is a bit of a mission to get there and once there you cannot walk to a local restaurant. However, we found the evening meals good and not too expensive. The pool looked lovely but we didn't use it. Our two day trips out with a guide were the highlight. On our final day we weren't being picked up till 3pm so decided we would use the hotel bikes to go for a ride. However this didn't happen as the bikes all had crossbars (no ladies bikes!) and being quite short there was no way I could get my leg over! So we decided to go for a walk on the buffalo trail which goes round the lodges. Despite trying to avoid them we were found by first one and then two 'red hat' local ladies. I am not comfortable with this sort of pestering and they spoilt our walk by 'helping' us over ditches and then we had the selling pitch where you end up buying something just to get rid of them! Other people may be comfortable with this sort of banter but I am not! I think they sense my fear!!

Room tip: All rooms require a walk that is quite hilly.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-TEL, General Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Dear Ang01622

Thank you very much for your kind review, and we are glad to read that you had an enjoyable time at our Ecolodge.
Coming to the lodge an enjoy the views is great, and as you say, going on some hikes to discover the area is fantastic.
We take good note of the bicycle request and we hope to see you again at Topas Ecolodge.

Kind regards,

Hubert de Murard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019

Really beautiful location and stunning views on their website, but 2 days of low cloud prevented us seeing them.
Be aware that it is 500 metres from the entrance to the bungalows so don`t come if you have any mobility problems.
Rooms large, but quite chilly until we had managed to put our A/C onto warm for some hours.
Pool is lovely and warm and we swam in the mist. Changing rooms and hot showers are available poolside.
Breakfast was good and supper ok but trying to westernise Vietnamese food is not such a brilliant idea. Had a bottle of wine at about £22, which was good.
Absolutely terrible road to get to hotel from Hue.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SouthCoastBritRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-TEL, General Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2019

Dear SouthCoastBritRachel,

Thank you so much for your great review.
The weather can be constantly changing and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay despite clouds.
We are always available to assist anyone even with mobility problems.
The road to Sapa is under construction, and we expect it to be done within 9 months from now.
But for a smoother ride, we suggest the Topas Mountain Express which avoid Sapa town.

Thank you again.

Hubert de Murard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews