We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not many good experiences here.... :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Ranked #23 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2017

For starters, I was placed in a room far away from the property. The owners here should be *ASHAMED* to put there guests in the room I stayed in. Not only was it far away from the actual eco house but it was in a small alley way with NO LIGHTS. It was basically a 1 star motel room. It was dirty and had construction going on on BOTH sides of my room. Literally, the workers break/shop room was right next to my room...i had a window w/a small curtain barely covering it and when i looked out i saw the disgusting room with all the workers in it. I looked at the website and they listed construction going on in one of the rooms so i was sure NOT to book that room. Instead I booked this room which had NO CONSTRUCTION WARNING. They have a shuttle service from the room to the facility but I needed wifi to use my cell to call up to the desk. They failed to give me the wifi password...I spoke to many guests and they all said they forgot to give it to them as well. I then had to walk down the road IN THE DARK by myself to get the password in an area known for muggings at night. A local guy on a moped was trying to get me on his bike. I refused and LUCKILY i made it to the facility safely in order to get the password. AWFUL experience here. I cancelled the rest of my stay and was charged the 1 night I stayed. Honestly, I should have been reimbursed seeing how awful the conditions of this room was. I simply cant believe they have this room for sale to their guests.On top of that, the service at their restaurant was horrible as well. 1st time i ordered a smoothy and it took 20min when it was only me in there. 2nd time I ordered food, waited 20 min and then went to check on it...they forgot to make it. I then waited an additional 20min for them to make it. NOTHING AT THIS PLACE was worthwhile. The yoga was decent but nothing special. Everyone I talked to was not happy with their rooms. I'd suggest skipping over this place. I found a great little guesthouse right next to the facility that charged less and the rooms and service were Fantastic (called Purnama).

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen2579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna C, Owner at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Greetings Jen2579,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback on your stay at Serenity's branch. We are terribly sorry that it was not to your expectation.

We are still grateful that you gave us a chance to improve our services further.
Thanks to your remark on the unclear Wi-Fi password displayed in the rooms, we have enlarged the displays so it is clear to any occupant. In addition to Front Office have been instructed to always repeat the Wi-Fi password upon arrival. This will allow better communication between the branches and Serenity Eco Guesthouse; make it easier to call a shuttle buggy and hopefully no more lonely walks at night!

In regards to the construction, we have now added more information on the listing so that any future guests are aware of the situation. Furthermore we will have closer communication between all departments in regards to future construction projects as well as their impacts on Serenity’s rooms.

For your refund, we apologize if you found it fair to be reimbursed 100% for the whole stay. It is just that our Front Office mentioned that you wanted to check out early and wanted a refund for the rest of your stay. There was no mention of the previous night. If you would have wanted a full refund for everything, we would have completely understood and given it to you.

It was unfortunate that you found the service slower than expected at our restaurant. We are currently undergoing some staff changes and still working on putting the right gears in place. In the future please do not hesitate to talk to our F&B manager, if you any issues in the future.

Your feedback has helped our team focus our attention on the core aspects of what makes Serenity. Thank you very much for waking us up to focus on what is important at the present moment

With Serenity,
Krishna, Yansyah & the Serenity Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Such a beautiful place! Can't imagine it could have been better, lovely and happy staff, cozy rooms, amazing and huge yoga class selection and Canggu is just such a cool, relaxed and chilled place. All my love Serenity!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aniarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna C, Front Office Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Greetings Aniarox,

Thank you for the nice review,and for your kind comments regarding our facilities and yoga class.

We hope to see you soon!

With Serenity
Ayu (Front Office)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and there was much this place can improve on.
This place has been shonkily slapped together. The stairs are not standard and are very steep and there are gaps between doors and frames.
We had to hold the shower head as the stand does not point the water downward. The hot water is fiddley and often goes too hot and too cold without even touching the tap. This should be fixed.

In terms of safety, this place is on the low side. The pool steps are especially dangerous. The pool was dirty and the pumps didnt work too well at sucking up bugs and debris.

During the aerial yoga class, the headstand position was not explained well at all. After the class we both injured our necks which we are still recovering from. Yoga teachers should give precise instructions and assess the students level to avoid injury.

The massage rooms felt dirty as the lower sheet doesnt get changed. The balinese massage and reflexology were pitiful. Balinese massage was not even on both sides and felt made up. She even finished 5 minutes early. The reflexology was nothing to do with pressure points but was more of a leg massage. What the hell?

The breakfast was okay. 3 days in a row we received toast that had been cut too thinly and arrived crumbled. We sent the it back each time but with difficulty as the staff are not good at English. The toast wasnt really toast as it tasted like powdery undercooked bread and was not even toasted.

I wouldnt stay here again. There are other places that are nicer for the same price.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank ivana-banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna C, Owner at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Greetings Ivana-Banana,
Thank you for your feedback on how we can improve our services. We understand how hard it is to be very upfront on concerns but we thank you for doing so.
After an emergency crew meeting, discussing your review. We have plans to improve Serenity Eco Guesthouse.

Following our minimal waste principles, we do our best to reuse, reduce and recycle. Our pool uses the minimum amount of chemicals as to not harm our skins and the environment. Challenges do arise during strong rains. As such, during harsh weather, our maintenance will keep the pump running 24 hours, thus keeping the pool clean.

Maintenance has been tasked to check the gaps between the doors and frames, to see if we can modify it and shorten those gaps using recyclable material. We also have plans to improve our showerheads so that they will point downwards, allowing hand-free showers. Finally for the hot water, we will change or add water heaters to get more consistent hot water.

With a dream to serve gluten-free toast, the week you were staying with us, we served our homemade toast. Of course being a new product we still had not perfected the recipe and process. We apologize that the toast arrived crumbled and too thin. The goods news for future guests is that we can now say our toasts our up to par!

Safety is of upmost importance at Serenity. We do hope your necks are doing better now. We have informed the yoga coordinator about this issue. It is likely we will review our Aerial Yoga classes to ensure they are up to standard.

For the massage, thanks to your feedback, we have made it a must to change all the sheets after every client. To ensure this happens, we have made it compulsory to provide a minimum 5minute break between massages. We have also appointed a Guest Relations Officer to help improve communications between guests and our therapists. Finally we will also buy timers to ensure that all guests receive the right amount of massage.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback. Once again we apologize for your less than desirable experience. We will continue to strive to do better!

With Serenity,
Krishna and the Serenity crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Great place to stay with a relaxing atmosphere all around. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. They make a big effort to help you with everything. It has everything you need. A warm place to feel at peace. Good location as well, near the beach.
The rooms are ok, nothing special. But you don't need more, you're there to go outside the room, to try some yoga!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Benbai87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna C, General Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hey Benbai87

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Indeed it is a great place to be, the great vibe here is infectious :)

Hope to see you again soon!

With Serenity
Krishna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel was as described.
we made the booking through bookyogaretreat.com as we wanted to have a very relaxed healthy vacation. It seemed like a good option. The communication with the staff via email before we arrive was excellent. When we arrived we didnt feel comfortable with the room. There was ALOT of mosquitoes, even with the mosquito net it didnt help. I woke up the next morning covered with bites. Some ants and a spider were found in the room as well. (Nothing extra ordinary for the location) The bathroom was very basic, but nothing that was not featured in the pictures or mentioned in the description. After one day we decided to check out and find another option in another area. The staff were very understanding and helpful. Very respectful girl called (Findi) helped out with everything, they even gave us a partial refund for our down payment.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nada A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna C, General Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Good day Nada

Thanks so much for your valuable feedback - we appreciate the shout-out to Findi and will send her your regards!

Sorry to hear about the mosquitos - being at the heart of Canggu Nelayan, which was previously a jungle, they are a common sight alongside other critters. We do provide mosquito lotions, and mosquito incense can be bought at a small cost. We also spray our garden and areas with natural insecticides routinely.

Well noted on your feedback on our rooms - we do pride ourselves as Canggu’s premier, affordable Eco-guesthouse, so our focus on environment and sustainability has led us to use basic eco-friendly construction.

Nevertheless, we are in the midst of major renovation and upgrading our facilities, which we hope will bring a profound improvement to our customer experience here at Serenity.


Thanks once again for your feedback and hope you have a pleasant day :)

With Serenity
Krishna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.8 km away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1 km away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
1 km away
Echoland
Echoland
#16 of 147 in Canggu
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Apartments Canggu
The Apartments Canggu
#27 of 302 in Canggu
174 reviews
1.6 km away
Matra Bali Guesthouse
Matra Bali Guesthouse
#6 of 147 in Canggu
133 reviews
0.8 km away
Sedasa Lodge
Sedasa Lodge
#5 of 302 in Canggu
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga

Address: Jalan Nelayan, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Price Range: €13 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a harmonious surroundings of Canggu and only a five minute stroll away from the beach, Serenity Eco Guesthouse offers a tranquil retreat for everyone. With a wonderful variety of accommodation, featuring private superior rooms to comfortable dormitory rooms. Providing free Wi-Fi, parking and DVD player. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the ambiance by the 14+ meter outdoor pool, join one of the many daily yoga classes or treat yourself to a Balinese healing massage. With an in-house ‘warung’ featuring healthy homemade meals ‘Alkaline Restaurant’ has plenty of variety to choose from. Catering for vegetarian and vegans, using no MSG or chemical taste enhancers. Located only 45 minute drive from Ngurah Rai Airport and 20 minute from popular Kuta/Seminyak areas, come and experience the peace, love, and harmony with Serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Eco Guesthouse And Yoga Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing