We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty overpriced place and bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Ranked #21 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2017

To summarize: both rooms and food were very basic and overpriced and the service was smile-less when not plainly rude.
My advice: stay in a better place nearby and drop in for the yoga classes, which are generally good – though often crowded – and held in well maintained studios.

I got there in a group of 4 friends in January, we found very unsettling to have to pay our rooms straight away before even seeing them. On seeing them, the unhealthy humidity in one of them made me choose to share a smaller and drying room with my friend. It was obvious that the room hadn’t been cleaned after the last guest: dirty towels on the floor and the hanger, make up cotton on the table. The room was among the most expensive we had taken on Ubud but still it was very tiny, the bathroom was dirty, cockroaches were running freely, and there was barely any space to put our stuff (when you book for a week you hope to be able to unpack, don’t you ?)
I left the next day, and, for a lower price, we found a brand new and very clean bigger room in a family guesthouse 5 min walk on the road, so that my friend, who had bought an of course non-refundable weekly yoga pass, could at least get some classes for her money.
The front office staff didn’t really seem to care about any request and their English level was pretty low, we had to ask for the assistant manager most of the time to get our issues solved.

The restaurant’s food was either bad or plain disgusting (poorly reheated fried rice, unripe fruits, ice cream tasting like plastic) for prices that would get you really tasty food anywhere around there. The breakfast options are very poor, which could be ok if it was at least good quality standards. Moreover, the restaurant claims to be vegan friendly but, as a vegan, you can only have fried rice or plain toast without extra charge.
Tables were sticky and we had to ask several times to finally get someone to wipe them. The cakes and juices were the only ok food, but their quality wasn’t consistent.

The yoga rooms were nice and clean, with welcomed fans, the teachers were quite good and the mats bolsters and blocks were in ok shape.

The things they do to keep it eco friendly are great efforts, it'd be so great if it were also customer friendly, clean, well maintained and with proper prices, but it isn't. Too bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor, they're less unhealthy and damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna C, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Greetings Lise,
Well received your feedback. We are so glad that you liked our yoga rooms and enjoyed the huge variety of quality teachers

We are terribly sorry that your experience at Serenity did not go so well. Thank you for you feedback on the room conditions. We want to assure that we have a strong team of housekeepers who clean all our guests rooms daily. Prior to checking in a guest, our Front Office always pre-check the rooms to make sure all is in working order.
An investigation revealed that the housekeeper cleaned the room at 12pm on the 1st of January with the guest, about to check out, still in the room. Now since Front Office checked you into that room but found the room clean, we can only assume that the dirty towels and cotton on the table were in the bathroom. It is probable that the guest that had just checked out came back into the room and took a shower.
However without proof, we can only assume.
In the future if a room was not properly clean please do not be hesitant to call the reception and ask for the housekeeping to be sent.

We apologize if your experience at the restaurant was not pleasant. At our restaurant we take great care to serve appetizing meals from fresh ingredients. We take great care in ensuring our food is vegan friendly. We will take note on your request of increasing the breakfast options

Thank you for helping us become better. We do hope that you find what you were searching for in Bali

With Serenity,
Krishna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2016

I just finished my one week solo package at Serenity, and all I can say is that one week is not long enough! Serenity is not just your average guesthouse, it's full of life and character. The place itself felt like home and all the staff from reception, to housekeeping, to the owners, and even the shuttle drivers, as well as fellow guests felt like family. They have successfully created a wonderful haven for yogis, surfers, and any travellers. The location is so mindfully situated in a quieter part of Canggu, and the beauty lies in the fact that it's only a mere 3 minute walk from the beach (even if you walk super slowly!)

I will definitely be back for longer! Thank you Dewi, Ayu, Alit, Edi, Findi for the heartfelt hospitality and for always going the extra mile on even the most mundane requests. Thank you to all the yoga teachers who have inspired me and touched my life in a way that it will never be the same again.

If you are seeking to go deeper in your practice, or just want a quiet yet vibrant place to stay close to the beach, I highly recommend Serenity because it's just filled with so much genuine kindness and love! Not to mention their in-house restaurant, Alkaline, serves the freshest and healthiest food at very affordable prices.
Light, love, and energy! Keep up all the good work! :) xx

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cairogypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna C, Front Office Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hello Cairogypsy,

Thank you for taking the time to write this awesome review. We are so glad you loved to stay with us. We are so grateful to have place near the beach. We love what we do and make all of our guest happy.

See you soon in your next vocation!

With Serenity
Ayu (Front Office)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We stayed for 3 nights at this guest house and also attended a yoga class at the morning. For me as a beginner the yoga class was very nice. We had a separate room. The people are very nice and kind and we liked the idea of the ecological aspects. The breakfast is also divers and as a vegan or vegetarian you will find in nice menu. If you walk aprox. 4 minutes you are at the beach. We would recommend to rent a bike, if you do not want to rent a motorbike.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank kimby100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna C, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Greetings Kimby,
Thank you for taking the time to give us this great feedback!
We are all really happy you had a great time while you stayed with us and were especially happy you liked the ecological side we try to promote. I will pass your kind comments on to the kitchen, we are always trying new recipes including daily specials so hopefully there will be even more choice next time you visit!
Thank you again for your feedback.
Hope to see you again soon!
With Serenity
Krishna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

We've spent 2 nights here, then we had to leave because we got dengue fever.
In first place we got disappointed from the staff that in a moment where we really needed help have spent their time trying to earn as much money as possible even on the transfer to the hospital.
And place number two: we understand the structure doesn't refund the cost of the room if you leave earlier, but we also had payed some yoga lessons in advance and didn't get to do any because of the illness and they refused to give us our money back. This I find ridiculous and not worth spending a cent here.
We should stop helping structures which has non respect for the clients anymore.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Francesco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna C, Owner at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Greetings Francesco and Tina,
Thank you for taking time to review us, we really appreciate any feedback given to make us better. Serenity was not established 7 years ago with the objective of making money. Serenity was built on the vision of being the friendliest eco guesthouse in Bali, providing affordable yoga retreats to travelers of all backgrounds.

We are very sorry to hear your experience with Serenity did not go well. Most of us have had dengue fever at least once in our life. We know how bad the fever can get. We do hope you are both doing better now. We have done an inquiry on the issue with the Front Office who checked you in, they assured us that when you arrived you both looked healthy. Now dengue fever takes at least 3 days for its symptoms to show up. Thus it is quite possible you had dengue fever before you arrived. If we had known we would of course have done everything in our power to help. Including a discounted transport to the hospital and room refunds. In addition your yoga pass expiry date would have been extended.

We checked our logbooks on the day of your check-out and we could not find any mention of a guest staying at Purnama (our partner guesthouse), having dengue fever, checking out earlier and going to the hospital.
Without mention of your special case to the Front Office or even requesting the manager on duty, of course the Front Office would follow standard procedures, unassuming of your situation. As such the room is refunded 80% of your total balance, transport is charged the normal price and your yoga pass will expire 1 month after purchase.
Transport in Canggu as in many parts of Bali have a special rule to prioritize local drivers. Creating a fixed rate for any transportation needs. This is the local law of Canggu and as Serenity is part of Canggu, we must abide by such laws.

Communication between Serenity and our guests take our highest priority. The support of our guests is what allows the Serenity dream to continue. Without our guests Serenity is nothing. Which is why we implore all future guests to communicate all their needs either at the reception, via email, telephone, Whatsapp or Skype.
For all the people who have visited Serenity, we are forever grateful. We will continue to do better, to serve an ever growing eco-friendly and health conscious crowd

With Serenity,
Krishna and the Serenity Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Lying in a hammock in the shade on one of my first days at Serenity, I found the owner Daniel was standing by me. He looked around at what he and his family and staff had created out of nothing - the trees and flowers, the pool, the wonderful muddle of yoga shalas and bedrooms - and he grinned and said: "I wish that wherever I travel, there would be somewhere like this to stay." He has a point.
I stayed for 30 days and left believing that this is a special place. It sits just a couple of hundred metres from the long beach with its rolling surf. It has a really good restaurant, mostly vegetarian. The food and the rooms are amazingly inexpensive. It offers a choice of yoga classes all day long - ashtanga, hatha, yin, vinyasa - all of it available for beginners as well as for those who are more experienced. But most of all, it is run by lovely people, who have taken their lead from Daniel and his wife, Yatna, who are both unusually aware of spiritual values.
Yatna spends hours each morning gathering wind-blown flowers and distributing them as blessings in beautiful little packages around the building. In Jurip, it has a master of massage of extraordinary talent. In Lala and Amanda, two endlessly patient managers who take the time to stop and talk and be interested in their guests. It may sound like an exaggeration, but I have never stayed anywhere where the staff were so consistently friendly and kind.
There are not many places left where life counts for more than money. Like Daniel, I wish there were places like this wherever I travel.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travellingnick53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna C, Front Office Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Greetings Nick,

Thank you so much for this lovely review! Your review made our day when we read it in front of our crew members during our weekly meeting!
We are truly grateful knowing that you and Lucy, just as we, feel how special this place is. More than just a business place, Serenity is a big family; where we try our best to help each other. We will continue to pursue Serenity’s two main goals: to be in harmony with the environment and to provide the greatest guest service
Thank you for being such a nice guest, and we hope to see both of you very soon!

With serenity
Lala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.8 km away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1 km away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
1 km away
Echoland
Echoland
#16 of 147 in Canggu
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Apartments Canggu
The Apartments Canggu
#24 of 302 in Canggu
174 reviews
1.6 km away
Matra Bali Guesthouse
Matra Bali Guesthouse
#6 of 147 in Canggu
133 reviews
0.8 km away
Sedasa Lodge
Sedasa Lodge
#5 of 302 in Canggu
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga

Address: Jalan Nelayan, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Canggu
Price Range: €13 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a harmonious surroundings of Canggu and only a five minute stroll away from the beach, Serenity Eco Guesthouse offers a tranquil retreat for everyone. With a wonderful variety of accommodation, featuring private superior rooms to comfortable dormitory rooms. Providing free Wi-Fi, parking and DVD player. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the ambiance by the 14+ meter outdoor pool, join one of the many daily yoga classes or treat yourself to a Balinese healing massage. With an in-house ‘warung’ featuring healthy homemade meals ‘Alkaline Restaurant’ has plenty of variety to choose from. Catering for vegetarian and vegans, using no MSG or chemical taste enhancers. Located only 45 minute drive from Ngurah Rai Airport and 20 minute from popular Kuta/Seminyak areas, come and experience the peace, love, and harmony with Serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Eco Guesthouse And Yoga Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing