We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best position in Kovalam Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jeevan Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jeevan Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Brighton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best position in Kovalam Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Was here for 13 nights in Feb/March 2012 and really enjoyed my stay. The rooms and facilities are OK and reasonable value for money. The rooms were cleaned daily to high standard, reception staff were always helpful, and had the bonus of Cafe de La Mer for very good daily breakfast.Nice swimming pool and sun beds easy to access. Because of its position this could be the best hotel on Kovalam beach but needs a face-lift.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    65
    41
    35
    45
See reviews for
96
84
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We have stayed in kovalam before and are used to budget hotels and can put up with a lot but.
Only two good things about the Jeevan is it's location that is directly on the beach and it has a licence to sell alcohol, so you can get beer in a glass rather than a coffee mug.
We booked superior rooms but were disappointed with our first rooms as they did not look anything like the web site photo's, but changed to slightly better rooms after complaining.
The bed sheets and pillow cases had holes in, room cleaning and towel changing was rare. Even when we asked they never cleaned the rooms, in fact we went on a two day excursion left the keys and they still failed to clean the rooms.. We had our bin emptied only once in sixteen nights. The taps looked like they have never been cleaned. The pool was green most days,. The table cloths in the restaurant were filthy, staff sleep on the tables. Other staff sleep in reception on sofas. The stairs were dirty with rubbish and junk piled up, the top terrace was like a junk yard. I would not recommend this hotel to my friends as for a quarter of the price you could get better up a side street. I was horrified that One waiter was beaten up by another waiter for getting my friends toast and egg breakfast order wrong.
This hotel good easy be the best on Kovalam beach with a professional management team.
We still had a wonderful holiday as we sent little time in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SAHBfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for 12 nights from 6th February. We had arranged with the hotel for a cab to pick us up at the airport, but unfortunately it didn't arrive so picked one up outside after a wait. The room we had was a/c on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. It was comfortable and clean although we did have a problem with the fridge but it got sorted quickly. Towels and bed linen was changed everyday if you left your key for the cleaners. The hotel restaurant (Cafe Del Mar) served an adequate menu and the food was very good. The hotel is right on the promenade with great views of the beach and sea. The pool is a little on the small side but fine for cooling off. We were a bit alarmed to see rats running around the edges of the pool area and one ran under our sunbeds, but they scuttle away so no real problem. The staff here are very friendly and always willing to help. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a basic place to stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salthegalSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel is right on the front, directly on the beach but there is no road access. You have to drag/carry your luggage from the end of the road. The place has a good swimming pool which given the wildness of the sea and the filth of the beach is a positive. The restaurant is a good place to watch the sunset over a beer. The staff are friendly.
However the rooms are incredibly basic though largish. The room was bare with no storage in budget Indian style. The bed was 2 thin mattresses pushed together over cots and grubby and stained bed sheets (but no other coverings). There was a verandah overlooking the pool. The shower to our astonishment had lots of hot water. The corridor leading to our room was filthy. Overall this felt like the sort of room I used to stay in, in India in the 70s and 80s. However apart from the hot water there was one difference: the price. The Jeevans cost £40 a night, not the £2 or £3 I used to spend. Ok, prices have gone up and costs are higher - however the room was worth about £20 a night, not £40.
Having said all that we only stayed one night, as we had a booking for three nights at a much more upmarket place following this, and there were no mishaps. One final comment: I first visited Kovalam in 1975 and then again in 1981 - then it was beautiful and the beach clean. The beach is now completely built up and whilst the sea is warm (and wild), the beach is filthy, covered in tar and my swimming costume was permanently stained from an hours bathing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

my self and my partner had excellent few days in jeevan beach resort.
everything was fine and we enjoyed resort service and happy with cleanness especially crystal clear swimming pool.
we recommend this one to all of my friends and relatives

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeep P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.5 km away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#20 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#27 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 km away
Hill & Sea View Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#11 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.6 km away
Pappukutty Beach Resort
Pappukutty Beach Resort
#38 of 51 in Kovalam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.5 km away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeevan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeevan Beach Resort

Property: Jeevan Beach Resort
Address: Hawah Beach (Lighthouse Beach), Kovalam 695521, India (Formerly Hotel Jeevan House)
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jeevan Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jeevan Beach Resort The Jeevan Beach Resort hosts tourists at the heart of Kovalam “the paradise of south India.” Kovalam is an internationally renowned beach with three adjacent crescent beaches. It has been a favorite haunt of tourists, especially Europeans, since the 1970s. A massive rocky promontory on the beach has created a beautiful bay of calm waters ideal for sea bathing. The resort offers accommodation in 48 rooms of 7 categories. It has a swimming pool attached with children pool. It has a multi cuisine restaurant facing the sea. We have a Beer and Wine Parlour with snooker table. It also has a roof top yard provides a best sun set view point and a space to relax and sun bath at the beach away from the folk. Each rooms has own modern bathroom, TV, fridge, intercom, and free wifi. Pearl Sea View with terrace, Exotic sea view and Bay watch has the facility for seeing the sun set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Jeevan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jeevan Beach Hotel Kovalam
Jeevan Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing