We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go to the bates motel”
Review of Tangle River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paxson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tangle River Inn
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not go to the bates motel”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This place is terrible. Starting with the fact that everything was overpriced (even for Alaska), the place is not even relaxing. It had a helicopter flying in an out at all hours of the day, super loud generator, and the food in the restaurant is terrible. I would rather have eaten 5 day old leftover taco bell. Don't waste your time or vacation, it is not worth it in the least.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelliebeethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    26
    23
    6
    9
See reviews for
20
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

As we approached the lodge, we saw a helicopter taking off from the rear area. It turns out this place supports a base camp for a nickel mining exploration that is about 30 yards from the back door! Aside from the noise from the choppers, we noticed a generator which we were told runs all night long. When asked for alternative accommodations, the staff replied, "go sleep in the tundra". Not to mention this mining operation on their website (or via phone or email confirmation) is out and out fraud.
Absolutely pass this up.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZeldaWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

It turns out this place supports a base camp for a nickel mining exploration outft, and the helicopters start at 8AM and run until the sun sets.

The cabins overlook the tents used by the mining outfit and besides the noise from the choppers (two when we were there) you are treated to the sounds of a generator that runs all night long.

The nickel exploration outfit has been based here since 2007, but no mention of it on the Inn's website.

Staff odd, and not friendly, to say the least.

Avoid. Drive west to the quiet, clean Maclaren River Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldwirelessguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Had the halibut fish and chips basket. It was good and it wa a large portion.Saw eagles flying over the lake and catching their dinner while we ate ours. Nice view. The staff was friendly. Everything is pricey in this area but it was fresh and we enjoyed the view.
On the paved part of the Denali Highway so that's a plus.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Considering there are virtually no other options, the place is OK. Rustic, but cozy. Has hot water, no internet, no TV (as of June 2008). Food was pretty good, which was nice since you have NO other options. Food isn't cheap, but it was priced normally for Alaska.

Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paxson
0.0 km away
Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
0.0 km away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
0.0 km away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangle River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangle River Inn

Property: Tangle River Inn
Address: Denali Hwy, Paxson, AK 99737
Region: United States > Alaska > Paxson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Paxson
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Tangle River Hotel Paxson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing