We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An Exhibition of Totem Poles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Totem Bight State Historical Park

Totem Bight State Historical Park
Book In Advance
US$56.00*
and up
Totem Bight and Ketchikan City Tour
Ranked #3 of 54 things to do in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
832 reviews
488 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
“An Exhibition of Totem Poles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This place provides an oppurtunity of viewing an exhibition of Totem poles - each Totem depicting a different story. There is also a Clan House which gives an idea of the life-style.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler-O-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    242
    46
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I went with the 50 Chevy Tours to this attraction. Amazing amount of history!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank sweedey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I would do it again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Very nice park and lot of history. Nice shopping at the gift shop. Beautiful water view.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hibiscus_KTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sr. Pictures are great to take here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Beautiful park that you can walk through a canopy of tall Pines and Spruces. It's on the water, kept immaculately clean and they have a great Long House to visit. Well worth the time to go and visit.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank jankathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What an experience with interesting history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We took this tour with our cruise ship. We began with a history of the trees as we walked to the site. Our guide then took us inside the clan house and spoke of the wonderful history involved. It really gave one the feel of what it would have been like to live in a clan house. Then we heard the history of the totem poles. After we were allowed to walk around a large grassy area and see different totems. Nearby is the beach and we enjoyed a walk there. The tour followed up with a visit to the gift shop and then looking for eagles. It was a very enjoyable time. After arriving home, I told my cousins about this tour and they informed me that my aunt, from the Tlingit Tribe, had lived in a clan house. It made it come more to life.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Zu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Totem Bight State Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Totem Bight State Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing