We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
25
6
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
6
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandwich bar pack a lunch fishing adventure brought home salmon rain gear catch fish halibut fishing staff was very friendly and helpful every morning skiff trolling boat dock boots engine bait
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

My only experience with Clover Pass resort has been extremely unpleasant and unprofessional. Three of my coworkers and I had the day off of work and decided to go to Clover Pass and spend the day fishing. After we finished doing all the paperwork, one of the Clover Pass employees started our boat, and we hit the water. After about a 30 minute boat ride we arrived at our destination. We turn off the boat and after about a half hour of fishing, we decided we wanted to move our boat to another spot. When we go to turn on the boat, the key snapped in half and the whole key was stuck inside the ignition switch. We called Clover Pass and they informed us it would take OVER AN HOUR to come pick us up. Luckily, one of the people were were with was able to get the boat started with a multi tool.

We drive back, get the boat looked at and fixed, and get the boat filled up with fuel. While the boat was being worked on, multiple different staff members walked past and said something along the lines of, “is that the boat that had the bent key?” We were never even informed that the key for the boat was bent in the first place.To top it off, the mechanic informed us this was not the first time this had happened, and he told us that he had tightened the driver seat so it could no longer swivel and hit the key while in the ignition. Before we left I had asked the staff who filled us up if we were going to have to pay for this fill up, since this wasn’t gas we would have used if the key hadn’t snapped and he said we wouldn’t have to. We fished for the rest of the day then finally came back to pay.

Upon arrival, we talked to a young woman and asked for a manager. The young lady was very reluctant to get any management, until eventually and older woman came from the back to speak with us. We started to explain the situation at hand and began to ask if there was any sort of compensation that could be provided for us, and before we even finished explaining, the woman cuts us off and said, verbatim, “We won’t do anything for that”. The woman didn’t even try to listen to the full situation, and even tried to blame us for breaking the key, even though the whole staff was aware that the key was bent before we even took out the boat! The icing on the cake from this whole disaster was when we paid, we still had to pay for the first fill up, even though we were told that we wouldn’t have to pay earlier in the day. I was astounded at the abhorrent “customer service” that was provided and am shocked that we were treated this way at fishing establishment as prominent as this. I would not recommend renting from this resort; if you plan on getting quality customer, check out Knudson Cove.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank najiteachebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

The lodging is pretty basic as to be expected for anyone knowing the real Alaska outside of city limits. This is not a place that your wife will really like if looking for deluxe accomodations, but we were there to fish 15-16 hours/day and hardly spent a second in the rooms with our eyes open. Food was pretty good, we would just pack a lunch from the sandwich bar for lunch to not lose time fishing.
Boats are great, the newer ones have 150hp engines that move quite well, top out at about 36mph. we double stack the downriggers to keep all 4 lines where the silvers are and the fish finder is A grade. This is what we were after 1st class boat and equipment. Staff is great, they are worked very hard and smile the whole way, great to share teh hot spots and best techniques, we did much better when we listened to them.
It was fun to watch the whales come by every morning, breathtaking experience.
We have stayed at their sister lodge, the Silver King, just up the channel a few miles and it was great too, but we like the flexible schedule of Clover a little better.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Our tour agent arranged a special lunch with crab fest in this island resort. No doubt the freshly cooked crabs will stir up a good appetite. The bonus was a walk in the Heritage moss forest and seeing wild animals like deer and eagle. Beautiful environment. Excellent!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank petersjsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

It was a pleasure to be able to rent a well equipped boat. Everything was extremely professional and top notch. the equipment was well taken care of and not beat up like the rentals you find in Florida. The electronics and down riggers all worked well and we were very comfortable following the suggestions on where to fish and how to fish. In all it was a good day. The rental fees were fair and the Yamaha engines use very little fuel when trolling.

Room tip: Sorry we were there for the boat rentals.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ducky52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

My son and I stayed at Clover Pass Resort June 19 to June 23, 2017. We were picked up at the airport in Ketchikan. Starting off with the shuttle van driver I have to say that all the staff at Clover Pass were very friendly and helpful. They made us feel welcomed when we arrived. The rooms are nice, and have a microwave and fridge, but don't expect anything fancy. The food was excellent. We had prime rib for dinner the first night we were there. Every night we had some sort of seafood with steak. The breakfast was very good with food like eggs, bacon, sausage etc. There was also a nice variety of healthier foods. They have a nice sandwich bar for lunch.
Our fishing package included the fourteen feet skiffs. We fished with the skiff the first day we arrived. I do not have any experience operating a boat. The staff is good at providing instructions on operating a boat. We fished for a few hours with the skiff. The next day we decided to upgrade to the twenty feet Thunder Jet Boats. The staff will provide you with all the instructions of trolling and bottom fishing etc, but you are not guaranteed to catch fish while self guiding. The fishing was very slow for us. The payed guiding companies at the resort caught a lot of fish. If you can afford it, I would suggest using a guide.
The resort is in a beautiful location and the views are great. My son and I did have a great time. We just wished the fishing was better.

Room tip: Try to get a room on the second floor.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mcbrii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews