We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Highly Recommended....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Ranked #6 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I researched several places prior to staying at Halcyon--I was initially impressed because of the spectacular views of the Homer Spit. It was all I expected and more! I went with a friend who drove, and he was initially annoyed because of the curving around the roads (but it was very late in the evening), and he even later said, "Wow..you were so right--this place was worth it in every way!" It's not right in town, but a little drive up away from town, but not bad at all, or far, and a very pretty drive--thus, the gorgeous view! An excellent, ideal view for pictures, too. You wouldn't get that in town. Also, I often saw wildlife en route to and from town--a moose and a young and older calf, on one occasion!

Juxia was very welcoming and knowledgeable. She knows everything about Homer--and this allowed me to experience things I did not even plan to take part of (e.g., Halibut Cove), but now, so thankful I did! Also, Juxia was always excited to hear what we all had done and how much we enjoyed it when we returned from the excursions. I always enjoyed hanging out, talking with her about various Homer-related events, and just other things, in general. She is really a genuinely sweet, down-to-earth person.

Juxia provided excellent breakfasts which were all-natural, healthy, well-balanced, and generous in amount, as well as varied and creative. I was never hungry until dinner and always skipped lunch--when people asked why, my reply was, "Juxia cooks these great, very filling, big breakfasts every single day, so I'm never hungry."

The place was clean and well-decorated-- I loved my room. It was very cozy. Juxia's dog was also cute and adorable, and enjoyed him since I'm such an animal-lover. I plan to return, God-willing to Homer this summer, and plan to again stay with Juxia. I recommend Halcyon, without reservation!

Room Tip: I had the room near the kitchen with a large bathroom--it was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    13
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
44
102
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villa Rica, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We,didn't know anything,about traveling in Alaska ,or places to stay..One call to Alaska's Best B&B Group {Halcyon Heights B&B} ,was a blessing to put us on the right track!!!! Juxia and Stephen,were great hosts. We loved the the veiw from the Camboose room..Also,you just might,see some of Alaska's wild life right there on their lovely location.. [a moose walked right beside our parked car.. And Too, they make you feel right at home!!! Thanks again to Juxia and Stephen.... Dennis and Jewell

Room Tip: Let, Alaska Best B&B Group .help you get off to great start in the great state of Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jewell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLifeIsGood, Owner at Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
We so appreciate the feedback. It is great to know you enjoyed the moose in our yard! Sorry we could only offer a limited discount for your custom package due to our short season and the high operating costs in remote locations. As we are committed to energy and resource conservation, we choose environmentally friendly products, we constantly search for ways cutting costs without sacrificing services. Thanks again for coming to see Alaska and letting us take care of you in Alaska. Keep on the happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

As new residents to Anchorage, my husband and I decided to make our first long weekend trip to Homer in September. We were delighted with our stay at the Halcyon Heights B&B. We stayed two nights and were blown away not only by our host's knowledge of the area and ability to hone in on places we would be interested in, but also by going the extra mile to make arrangements for us at local restaurants and water taxi's without our even having to ask! Upon our arrival, Juxia immediately made us feel entirely at home. The beautiful plants in the main part of the house were especially notable, the view overlooking the Spit was incredible, and our room was extremely comfortable and immaculate. We especially appreciated being able to relax after a day's hike in a room where we could read with excellent lighting, something we often find lacking when we travel. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, and Juxia worked our dietary preferences into the menu. Halcyon Heights B&B is just a few minutes from downtown, and we were very glad to be in a quiet section of town. All in all, we highly recommend Halcyon for anyone looking for a wonderful experience in Homer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at Halcyon Heights for 3 nights near the end of the tourist season in September. Juxia was the most helpful host we have ever met. She spoke with us numerous times via phone in the months preceding our trip and helped us arrange a bear watching trip. She advised us to schedule an additional day in Homer as weather was very hard to predict in September and we are very glad we listened to her. If we had not changed our schedule we would not have been able to make the flight to Brooks River to see the grizzlies - a trip highlight. She was a joy to speak with, the room was exceptionally comfortable and the breakfasts were large and delicious. I highly recommend Halcyon Heights to all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here two nights and the breakfast was really good. The hosts were very helpful and they were able to help us with all of our requests and needs. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters which was the right size room for our group.

Juxia helped us with a fishing trip and also made us lunch to take on the boat which was really great.

The had board games, video's and lots of other things available to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

The view from the deck was incredible. The hot tub was in a great location and it was pretty easy to locate the property.

They even helped us locate some great dining options every night. Overall a good place to stay and a good value compared to some of the other places we looked at staying.

Room Tip: Ask Juxia, the host and she will put you in the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treese0140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
3.6 km away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
3.5 km away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
3.5 km away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.8 km away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
7.8 km away
Kenai Peninsula Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn

Property: Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Address: 1200 Mission Rd, Homer, AK 99603-9376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on East Hill in Homer, Alaska, only 6 minutes to downtown, this proud Alaska Bed and Breakfast/Inn will thrill you with its spectacular views of the famous Homer Spit & Kachemak Bay, the Grewingk Glacier & the Kenai Mountains, Homer itself, and more! If you've never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast lodging before, Halcyon Heights B&B/Inn is the place to start. Recommended by National Geographic Adventures, Best Places Alaska, Moon. Close to Wynn Nature Center and winter ski trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing