We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hike”

Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This enormous state park, largely unexplored wilderness, includes glaciers, rivers and waterfalls and offers a 10-mile coastline strip that is excellent for fishing and kayaking. Wildlife sightings include puffins, eagles, sea otters, seals, porpoises and whales.
Reviewed 2 September 2018

We hiked up to Grewingk Glacier Lake- the view at the lake was fantastic and we got some great photos of us withe the glacier in the background of the lake

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Vacation520319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"saddle trail"
in 18 reviews
"grewingk glacier"
in 23 reviews
"great hike"
in 10 reviews
"water taxi"
in 55 reviews
"icebergs floating"
in 5 reviews
"kachemak bay"
in 17 reviews
"overlook cabin"
in 3 reviews
"hand tram"
in 3 reviews
"halibut cove"
in 10 reviews
"blue ice"
in 2 reviews
"pickup spot"
in 2 reviews
"amazing place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"black beans"
in 10 reviews
"maintained trails"
in 3 reviews
"moderate hike"
in 2 reviews
"lots of water"
in 2 reviews
"well worth the effort"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

This park has great maintained trails. Lots of wildlife. Love the packet glaciers. Breathtaking views. Well worth the hike. Bring your water. A lunch so you can continue on.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank angelabouterse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We took a water taxi over to the Saddle trail, hiked to the top and back down the other side toward the glacier, but were afraid of missing our taxi back, so didn't make it to the glacier. We did see a serene view of the bay, lots of bear poop, no bears (yay), and few other visitors. The trails were well kept, though a little soggy on the interior after the rain. Very steep, so plan to wear hiking boots, and if it's rained, make sure they're water proof.

So glad we made time for this hike! Pro-tip, stop at La Baleine to get their box lunch to eat there! Great portions!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Loribeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We flew across the bay by helicopter and viewed Kachemak Bay State Park!! It was so beautiful by air!!
We landed just outside the park and picked blueberries, then landed on top of a glacier!!
What a beautiful way to see Alaska.
Thank you Alaska Ultimate Safaris!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Kirsten4265AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We spent a week in Homer AK right on the Kachemak Bay. WOW! Not to be missed! We hung out on the Homer Spit, when halibut fishing, dined at some truly unforgettable places and met the locals. The beauty of this place with three glaciers across the bay from Homer is amazing. Don’t be surprised to see moose on the streets. We plan to return and spend a few months here when we retire - we’ve been to many places in AK and love it here the best.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank WestinGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kachemak Bay State Park also viewed

 

Been to Kachemak Bay State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing