We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Homer
from US$6,400.00
More Info
from US$680.00
More Info
from US$725.00
More Info
from US$695.00
More Info
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
137
14
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
14
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saddle trail grewingk glacier great hike water taxi icebergs floating kachemak bay overlook cabin hand tram halibut cove blue ice pickup spot amazing place to visit black beans maintained trails moderate hike lots of water well worth the effort
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We flew across the bay by helicopter and viewed Kachemak Bay State Park!! It was so beautiful by air!!
We landed just outside the park and picked blueberries, then landed on top of a glacier!!
What a beautiful way to see Alaska.
Thank you Alaska Ultimate Safaris!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Kirsten4265AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We spent a week in Homer AK right on the Kachemak Bay. WOW! Not to be missed! We hung out on the Homer Spit, when halibut fishing, dined at some truly unforgettable places and met the locals. The beauty of this place with three glaciers across the bay from Homer is amazing. Don’t be surprised to see moose on the streets. We plan to return and spend a few months here when we retire - we’ve been to many places in AK and love it here the best.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank WestinGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Booked a water taxi ($80 round trip) to take me to the park from Homer. The hike to the glacier was easy on mostly flat terrain. The glacier terminates at a lake that has several icebergs of varying sizes floating around. A great day hike to get close to a glacier.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

When you reach the glacier it is overwhelming how beautiful it is. Nothing can prepare you. It is very remote and hard to get there, water taxi or plane. While it is a state park it feels very secluded and you're very alone. Bring bear spray! Go early enough so if you miss your water taxi you will have time to catch another one. Verizon works over there

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank betsy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

I might be biased... from my home I can look across Kachemak Bay and see Kachemak Bay State Park every day. Boat tours can take you to the shore line to see wild life, but you should take a water taxi and get dropped off for a day of hiking the many great trails, from easy to difficult. Of course, the best is to reserve a forest cabin or go back-packing. Since there is no road access, the trail use is fairly light. You will get a real wilderness experience.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank Maynard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews