We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We will return again & again!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Haines, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
2 reviews
“We will return again & again!”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family’s stay at Paradise West was a wonderful retreat for all of us. Paradise West is located in one of the most beautiful settings in all of the Chilkat Valley. Seals, sea otters and dall’s porpoise could all be seen in the cove just feet below, not to mention the majestic Chilkat Mountain range with the gorgeous Rainbow Glacier all seen from the comfort of the deck.
The cabin is well stocked with all you need to put together a gourmet meal or to prepare fresh caught salmon on the propane grill. Internet access and satellite TV are available, but you really won’t even think to turn it on because of the spectacular views from the front window.
Be aware that the cabin is not toddler friendly, but is great for families with older children. The cabin is also rustic, so if you need to be pampered, this might not be the place for you. But for us, it was a healing balm for our spirits. We know that this will be our annual family reunion spot until we can permanently return to live in Haines, Alaska.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The views!
Liked least: the short showers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
So glad it was perfect for you. We look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerian1
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quiet cabin with a lovely view”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in October 2014

This is a very lovely cabin with lots of character and a wonderful view. We didn't have the chance to use the sauna. It is not the most kid friendly cabin (I had my two year old with me so the stairs were a bit daunting). It had everything we needed. We had some trouble with the oil heater but the hosts were kind in helping us resolve the issue. I would come back again just with my immediate family, but not with extended family or friends as there is only 1 enclosed bedroom so privacy and noise is an issue. It is really a lovely place though for a small family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Lack of privacy/think walls in the cabin.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful peace and quiet with fabulous views and wildlife!”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I spent a week here in June 2014. The cabin had everything we needed and was warm and comfortable. The views from the sofa were out of this world and we were able to watch whales and porpoises without moving. There were bald eagles all around us and one day we saw a river otter walk past the window. The people of Haines were very friendly and we were able to stock up with all necessary provisions. We were also able to go out whale watching. We were able to learn about the original owner of the cabin and were lucky enough to meet the very nice gentleman who actually built it. Sadly we live too far away to return and we were very sad when the time came to leave. A truly wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Haines!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter n
Worgl, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cabin with great view”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful week in this wooden cabin which is located just a couple of minutes drive from Haines. There is a terasse with gas barbecue, sauna but the most facinating thing is the great view out of the window. We will be happy to come again one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view out of the window
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review! We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscar1829
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
“30th Aniversary”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in July 2014

Everything you would expect in a rustic Alaskan cabin, except it has indoor plumbing. The views are absolutely spectacular. You can see a glacier out your front window. Eagles flew by consistently and we got to see them feeding.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing