We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
111
61
18
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
61
18
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basic accommodation friendly dogs cook islands airport pick beach bungalow island life explore the island across the road muri chickens deck supplies auckland roosters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Some what needs a good refresh and clean. Think the lady is a bit grumpy too.
The location and views was very good thou.
The picture of the pool, well the picture looks much better.
Fine for a night or 2 but other options for longer periods .

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Harley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn C, Manager at Sunrise Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thankyou Harley for your comments. The property is an absolute oceanfront
location and is subject to the harsh enviromnent which can be wind salt spray
from the sea and other factors. The Sunrise has a maintenance programme
which is strictly adherred to. The week prior the quarterly repaint of all exteriors was
completed with the interiors also completed. The salt water swimming pool
is serviced and cleaned by professionals twice weekly with the pool surround
hosed down every third day. In between times when applicable all external
exteriors are regularly hosed by the groundsman who is employed here .
As for the manager in your view seeming to be a bit grumpy that is your perception
every guest is treated with respect and courtesy.
The photographs of the property are considered to be a fair and accurate
overall appraisal the Sunrise is a good value for money proposition with the majority of guests booking for extended periods.
Again thanks for your comments


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Comfortable but quite basic. Clean and with everything you need - what more can you ask! The pool was great for our boys who were in it most mornings. Really good location to explore the island from.
Caryn (owner/manager) is super helpful.
Really great value for money and we would definitely go back again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 267helenai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed at Sunrise & it was an awesome time. BEAUTIFUL location, very quiet- NO CHICKENS & the manager , Karen, is super sweet. Karen was very helpful & generous. We were booked into one of the beach bungalows but arrived to find out that Karen moved us so she could make room for an elderly lady who needed our booked bungalow because it had no stairs. However, Karen being an amazing lady that she is, had upgraded us to the upstairs bigger private suite (no extra charge). It was beautiful & felt like a cottage.
We would definetley come and stay again. Cheers Karen :)

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank morganl914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We Just returned from a 7 day stay at Sunrise beach bungalows and we couldn't recommend it more. The Bungalows are a slice of luxury at an affordable price and the property is situated right by the ocean giving you spectacular views (you can't beat the sunrise) it's an Ideal location and not far to walk to Muri and the lagoon.

The owner Caryn is incredibly accommodating and went out of her way to ensure our holiday was the one we had dreamt of. Thanks again Caryn, we will be back again next year.

Room tip: The view from the ocean front rooms makes it worth paying a little extra
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NickD3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Stayed there for one night arriving late before taking early morning flight flying out of Rarotonga .
The rooms are small with very basic accommodation .Breakfast is supplied in the room and left for you to cook .
The manageress is extremely cooperative and works at odd hours to run the place .
Transfers to the airport , which is not so near , is arranged .
It is a great value for money though .

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pilgrim_gsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews