We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Detox for Workaholics!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aitutaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aitutaki Beach Villas
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband is a WORKAHOLIC - who never takes any time for holidays. So you can imagine my surprise (and speed to respond) when he suggested a holiday at Aitutaki.

When we arrived, I was speechless - I felt as though I'd arrived in paradise!!! We instantly relaxed and adopted "island time". I could not believe the most stunning beach (great for snorkelling) was only metres from our door.

Our villa was probably the oldest of the group (but in the best position). It reminded us of a kiwi-style batch of the 60's. It was unpretentious and basic, but provided us with absolutely everything we required for a perfect stay, ie books, beach towels, snorkels, flippers, kayaks etc and our very own hammock, and even an abundant supply of coconuts. Bliss!! We loved the large, covered deck facing the lagoon, and the full sized fridge was a bonus.

Paka, our wonderful hostess took care of everything we needed - transport to and from the airport, keeping "our" beach pristine, helping us get a scooter and licence, and answering all of our questions. We loved everything about our stay there, but especially the friendliness of the locals.

Surprise! Surprise - the "workaholic" did manage to relax and was very reluctant to leave.

We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Try not to arrive on a Sunday, as lots of things are closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

We have finally returned home from an eleven month visit to Oceania staying in an amazing array of accommodation. One of our favourite places was Aitutaki Beach Villas on the wonderful Cook Islands, the perfect location and the best hosts ever. We were made to feel so very welcome by Paka and the staff at the villas and enjoyed a lovely two weeks in paradise. We mainly catered for ourselves and although supplies were limited we did enjoy riding around the island on the complimentary scooter provided with the villa searching out local foods. The beach just in front of the four villas was amazing and we snorkelled every day seeing a variety of fish and corals just feet from the shoreline. We also used the complimentary kayaks and were able to get right out to the reef edge. The villas are also conveniently located if you wish to eat out and the food and entertainment at the regular Thursday Island Night at the Tamaru a short stroll along the beach was good. We also enjoyed the TeKing lagoon day cruise which was a day well spent. The churches on the island were stunning and we went to several services during our stay, we even met a lovely elderly chap who took us around the island and showed us his home spending several hours of his time telling us about the history of the islands. If you stay anywhere on this lovely island then we would thoroughly recommend Paka and the Aitutaki Beach Villas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed 7 nights at the Aitutaki Beach Villas in July. We had never been to a South Pacific Island before, but chose Rarotonga (3 nights) Aitutaki (7 nights) after reading what others had to say on Trip Advisor. We just fell in love with Aitutaki and the people there. The Villas are clean and have everything you need for cooking your own meals - we found out where we could get local produce from (tuna, etc) and ate at home. There are shops you can buy most things you need, including wine and beer. Yes, a little bit dearer than home, but remember these are the prices the locals also have to pay. Still way cheaper than dining out (we had a meal out the first night at a local resort, and were disappointed so decided to do our own thing). Buy a mosquito coil and some spray when you get there and and keep the screens closed towards dusk. There are mosquitos, but coming from NZ we are used to them!!!!. I snorkeled for the first time there, and what a wonderland! We went on a day trip to the outer lagoon islands and when snorkeling saw an eagle ray, moray eel, thousands of tropical fish you can put your hand out and touch! Beautiful giant clams, lots of different corals and even the strings of oysters where the black pearls are cultivated. Thank you Te King for the fantastic fun day we had, highly recommend making this a 'must do' during your stay. Our fishing trip with Mike on the 'Black Pearl' was awesome, we caught MahiMahi and Yellow fin tuna which got delivered to our Villa skinned & boned - YUM, another 'must do' for fishos.
Sitting on the deck of our beachfront villa with a glass of wine watching the stunning sunset over the lagoon and distant reef - heaven on earth.
Paka. Beautiful Paka and her son Dean were so amazing. Nothing was too much trouble, she booked trips for us, made sure everything was OK. Her lovely smile and happy laugh was such a pleasure, and it was fun chatting about the island and local news. Thank you so much Paka and Dean. We are coming back. But next time we want to stay 2 weeks at least!!!

Room Tip: Beachfront yeah!! No 2 Villa :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fleur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We had one of the best vacations ever staying in an "Absolute Beachfront" villa. The location is fantastic, with beautiful sunset views of the lagoon and excellent snorkeling and kayaking (kayaks provided, bring your own snorkeling gear). The first night of our four night stay we were the other villas (about 6 in all) were empty, then started filling in more over the time we were there. We were provided a lovely selection of fruit at the start of our stay, along with a complementary motor scooter.

My only caution is that if you come to Aitutaki in summer or fall (roughly January-June), make sure you bring strong insect repellant! The mosquitoes on the island are deadly this time of year (not just here, but everywhere around the lagoon). The screens on our villa were all good, but outside activities were dangerous early morning or evening.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TechnoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I thought Rarotonga was paradise until i arrived in Aitutaki, then a whole new benchmark was set. the villas were located in an unbelievable location about 10 mins drive from the airport right on the water! We were greeted by a lovely young lady who showed us our villa and answered any questions we had. even organised a lagoon tour for us the next day. If you want to experience the real island style, this is the place to stay. Everything you need in a self contained accomodation without the sterile feel of a resort. Full kitchen if you want to cook for yourself or restaurants a 2 minute stroll along the beach which is less than 20 steps from your bed!
I came here with friends which was fantastic but could not think of a better place to impress your partner!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bashmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.6 km away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,204 reviews
3.3 km away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
176 reviews
1.6 km away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
474 reviews
0.6 km away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Beach Villas

Address: Amuri Beach, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aitutaki
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: €110 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Private and self-contained Bungalows. If its for honeymoon, relaxation, anniversary or a family getaway holiday you have come to the right place. We're on the beach, safe, clean and very private. Affordable accommodation rates and within walking distance to the bigger hotels/restaurants/shops. A small accommodation business that offers an alternative living to bigger & over crowded-hotels. We're "small, beautiful and lovely." Do your own thing with minimal interruption from us; cook your own and enjoy the sunset view from your own bungalow. Bungalows come equipped with modern kitchen facilities, Kingsize beds, single beds, hot shower, a large refrigerator, CD-music player, linen etc. Excellent beach, good swimming & snorkeling, kayaking and perfect location. There are 4 bungalows and can house up to 3 persons or 4 persons for family (2 x adult and 2 x child). We can organise lagoon cruise, tours, dive, fishing, rentals on arrival. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Beach Villas Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing