We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
109
74
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
74
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one foot island island night ootu beach koru cafe wonderful night stay blue lagoon restaurant stunning lagoon lagoon cruise hot water fabulous location local fruit definitely stay here again lounge chairs instant coffee within easy walking distance air conditioning fish
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Five years since we last visited and there have been some improvements - to the rooms, restaurant and facilities. The location is the biggest asset ... Ootu Beach gives the very best views of the lagoon and is handy to cruises, restaurants and scooter rental.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank spraggbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed a group of three in one of the villas. The staff was very helpful and provided everything we asked for and more and the restaurant is great.

We booked a lagoon cruise with Aitutaki Adventures (Yellow catamaran), but something went wrong and they never came to pick us up. The manager of Aitutaki Village arranged for us to go on the Bishops cruise instead, only it had already left so they sailed us out to One Foot Island in a speed boat where we joined the bigger cruise boat and had a delicious local lunch etc.

I'd book one of their villa again that's for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LauraD3332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Met promptly at the airport when we landed, took us less than 10 minutes to reach the village. Was blown away by the scenery, view and location. You can sit under the coconut tree all day and just stare out at the lagoon, everything you have pictured in your mind about a tropical paradise in a idyllic place, like in the postcards. Staff are friendly and helpful. Only problem I had was room housekeeping. Stayed there for 3 days, first day did not service my room despite us putting the for service sign out. Second day just gave a change of towel but did not make up the bed and clean room. Third day clean the room, make the bed but no new towel. Rooms are dirty with cobwebs in the bathroom with spiders on the web and stains in the shower area when we check in. Had cockroaches crawling on the bed while reading a book at night. The resort also give out a endless supply of drinking water. Also bear in mind if you have early start for your activites, breakfast only start at 8am, but even then the food only start coming out at 8am and the water only start boiling at 8am also.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pioneertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We went to Aitutaki for our honeymoon and chose AV because it is on Ootu Beach, which is said to be to best swimming beach, and this is definitely true - you can swim even when the tide is out and this isn't the case elsewhere. It's also sandy bottom, so no need to worry about corals, etc. We had complimentary airport pick up and the staff were generally helpful and friendly, especially the manager, Tania. The villas themselves are a good size, with kitchenette, insect screening and air conditioning. I found the bed a bit hard, but that's my only complaint. You can borrow snorkel gear, use the kayaks and there are relaxing beach loungers right on the beach front. The included continental breakfast wasn't great, but it was enough to sustain you. We ate dinner at AV our first night and it was OK, but we also attended the island night and the buffet dinner was great and the entertainment excellent. We went to other island nights and I preferred this one as it seemed more authentic and you are told the story of Aitutaki, which was great. The cruise companies for trips out to the Lagoon are at Ootu Beach and there is a cafe, Koru Cafe, just a short walk down the road and it is excellent. The Boatshed is a bit further on, but we weren't very impressed with their dinner. Overall, highly recommend AV and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in #4 and had a view out to Beach, which was great.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tunicategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

The Villas are decent and clean. If you're looking for 5 stay resort, this isn't the place for you, but the view makes up for it. We decided to visit Aitutaki on a whim while staying at Rarotonga. This resort had an amazing view of the lagoon!!! Priceless, where you can spend all day starring out into the water. They had a few kayaks that you can take out and padding to other parts of the island which we found awesome. The people on the island were super friendly and very hospitable. The Manager from the resort go out of their way to make your stay is extra special. We definitely felt appreciated while feeling very homey. The food at their restaurant was quite good, the burger was amazing and so was the steak. I didn't expect them to have good food on a small island, but they exceeded my expectation with it. Aitutaki was amazing, I would definitely come back. You will feel that there is a heaven on earth with the views of the lagoon. You will also feel that you are he only one on the island as well...breathtaking!

Whatever you do, make sure you bring DEET mosquito spray. Not sure if it was the time of year, but we all got eaten alive...

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rtheidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews