We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in San Jose”
Review of Casa de las Tias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de las Tias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We can't say enough about our stay at Casa de las Tias. We are a family of four that stayed for four nights. The owners are a delightful couple with a natural gift of hospitality. The rooms and inn are wonderfully decorated and very clean; the breakfasts were different each day and delicious. It was nice to receive personalized guidance on our excursions and interests while visiting. We highly recommend this B&B and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Henry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilarxavier, Owner at Casa de las Tias, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

please accept our belated thanks for your generous review on tripadvisor.
we will hold you to your promise to return someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

The house is charming and the gardens are wonderful. Feels like you step right out of the hustling sometimes overwhelming traffic of Escazu where everything is available right into a little paradise. Far enough from the traffic that you don't hear any of it. And you can walk easily and safely to one of the best Indian restaurants I have found. Xavier and Pilar are wonderful hosts. I recommend it to all my friends. It is my go to spot when I have to make a shopping trip to San Jose (I live in Guanacaste, about 4 hours away).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Playa_Ocotal_Jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

My father and I stayed a night at Casa de las Tias during his exploratory retirement trip to Costa Rica. This B&B is right in the center of Escazu activity, however you’ll feel secluded. The B&B is in a lovely house in a park-like setting located down an alley-like “street” that can be a little hard to find at first. But, once at Casa de las Tias you will enjoy their tremendous hospitality and friendliness.

We were provided a wonderful breakfast that was simply delicious. They also gave us great moving to Costa Rica advise and sight-seeing recommendations.

This B&B seems to be popular with Europeans, as well as Americans. Highly recommended.

Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Panama Room (their only room with twin beds)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXtreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

The rooms are nice with ensuite bathrooms and free wifi. The host couple is fluent in English and go out of their way to make your visit pleasant and comfortable. They serve a great breakfast and are happy to arrange transport from/to the airport .
KEH

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

This place is a great welcoming place to stay when coming to Costa Rica. The house is beautiful and the rooms are very clean. It is within walking distance to a main drag thru town where you will find some restaurants, grocery store and shops. The house is tucked away from traffic in a very peaceful setting. We like staying here for one or two nights before and after traveling to other destinations in the country. It is a short distance to the San Jose airport and downtown San Jose where we visited the Jade museum and the Gold museum.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Vida V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael de Escazu
0.9 km away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#7 of 13 in Escazu
200 reviews
3.7 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
925 reviews
2.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 13 in Escazu
441 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa Laurin B&B
Casa Laurin B&B
#1 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
365 reviews
1.6 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jo...
#1 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Tias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Tias

Address: Apdo 295-1200, San Rafael de Escazu 33102, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range: €73 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Tias 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Tias is a sprawling Victorian-style house set on a 2,300m.Estate in the charming town of San Rafael de Escaza, just 10 minutes from San Jose. The airy cedar house is unique; each room decorated with original art from various Latin American countries, and featuring private bath and ceiling fan. Within a block, visitors can enjoy a wide choice of fine restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa de las Tias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing