We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #58 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Hoteliers at the front desk are kind. One guy is always patrolling the hotel and he's loud. Lol He doesn't speak English and keep speaking out loudly, but he certainly seems to try helping guests. It's close from conveniences in downtown San Jose. Not a cheap price, but you'll hardly find cheaper and better hotel in San Jose. I think living cost here is quiet expensive. After all, they saved my scanned copy of passport and that's the major reason why I'm positive to here. But it's not a very quiet hotel. Outside noises easily come through the windows. Rooms without windows were smelly.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, you will need to ask the hotel to clean the room before going inside there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackSparrow4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorazanCM, Community Manager at Morazan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you very much for your message. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. The man you talk about, I believe is Ricardo, our bellboy. He's quite the character as you are right to say, but he's very helpful with our guests and is always willing to help in any way you desire. Unfortunately the noise from outside is inevitable given that we are located right at the heart of San José. Our prices as well are very competitive to the area, as you say. However, San José is the main spot for urban travel in Costa Rica, so maybe that's why you perceived them as high.

We are currently undergoing several renovations to our infraestructure and customer service to be able to guarantee an ever better experience next time you visit us. Hopefully, it'll be very soon. ¡Thanks again for your preference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2017

Clean rooms all remolded friendly staff. Price to fit your budget. Have stayed there many times Restaurant on second floor has free Breakfast for guest. Good breakfast and not to expensive if your not staying at the Hotel. As for smoking in the room years ago i'm sure I enjoyed a cigar in my room. Smoking Laws in Costa Rica have changed but a cigar and Cigarettes can be enjoyed every evening next door at the Night Club Key largo.

Room Tip: Noise is a problem in the front rooms after 6 AM M-F
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank patf2swa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorazanCM, Community Manager at Morazan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you very much for your message and preference! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will have you visiting us again very soon. Actually, as you say, smoking laws in Costa Rica have changed in recent years, therefor it is illegal to smoke in public spaces such as hotels. Nevertheless, you can always come down to our main entrance and have a smoke out there. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

When my friend cancelled on me for our Costa Rica trip I changed plans and booked a room with Hotel Morazon due to its location. It borders Morazon Park and is one block from shopping and restaurants on Central Avenue. It is also a short walk to casinos and night clubs.

I booked a junior suite which was quite spacious. It also had a balcony overlooking the street. The TV, fridge and closet space were adequate. There were numerous chairs, but not a comfortable spot in the room. The shower was barely functional. Noise from the street was loud and only stopped between 3 and 5 a.m. The hotel is in need of a major upgrade.

The staff was courteous and helpful. The 2nd floor restaurant was not too bad and was fun when the DJ was there. The breakfast that came with the room was OK.

I would only recommend for travelers who want to be close to the dance clubs and nightlife. Book a smaller room. The larger rooms are not worth additional price.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorazanCM, Community Manager at Morazan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hello, and thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to improve our service. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us to the level that you expected. Fortunately, we can now inform you that we have listened to all our past visitors' suggestions and are currently undergowing serious renovations to our infraestructure and customer service guidelines, so that we can guarantee a pleasurable stay for all guests at any time. Breakfast is also being upgraded with a few more options and strict quality inspection.

The one thing we cannot account for is the noise. Sadly, being at the heart of city life comes with its disadvantages, and this is one. The city can get a bit loud sometimes, but whenever this happens we are happy to try and move you to a quieter room. Hopefully we will be honored with your visit again soon, so that you can see for yourself how our changes are coming up and give us your updated feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I stayed in one of the Jr Suites for a few night in February and early March. The roomed seemed quieter than usual. I didn't notice noise from the Key Largo complex in this room. There is still plenty of street noise. They are upgrading some of their old window unit AC's. The one in my room was quiet and cooled the room. They have done something with their hot water systems. This hotel used to have dangerously hot water in the showers. Now it feels like they have on demand heaters and you need to run the water at half open to get warm water. Otherwise things are pretty much the same. Cleaning ladies are nice, staff is friendly. If they get all the AC upgraded it will be a big plus for me.

Room Tip: If you get a balcony make sure the door to the balcony doesn't lock when you close it before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorazanCM, Community Manager at Morazan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you very much for your message! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. I believe you will be glad to hear we are currently undergoing even more renovations, this time to both our infraestructures and customer service policies so that we can guarantee complete satisfaction to all the guests who visit us, and this does include renovating all of our A/C units and television sets, as well as renewing and giving due maintenance to our furnishings and beds. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again very soon to see for yourself all of our changes and give us another update on your opinion of our hotel. We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Location - excellent for daytime shopping. Food and staff excellent! Now for the bad stuff--we stayed for 2 weeks and showered in a slow steady stream of cool water-- a bill of $50.00 was presented to us when we checked out for using the telephone for local calls--the lighting, especially in the bathroom, is nearly none and it is impossible to apply makeup or comb your hair and lighting in bed area is not much better. Also curtains need to be replaced--to the owners--I am sure the manager, Ricky Ricardo, has complained about this many times and it might be wise to listen!

Room Tip: Restaurant had good food and excellent servers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sallyswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorazanCM, Community Manager at Morazan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sorry to hear you encountered so many inconveniences with your stay. Fortunately I can tell you that in the last year, and especially during the last couple of months, we have been undergoing serious renovations to our infraestructure and customer service policies to guarantee that all of our guests find complete satisfaction while visiting us. Alas! Even the curtains have been replaced! We apologize for the problems you mention. There has been a full change of management in the past year and we are doing all we can now to hear and put into action the changes our friends and customers suggest. So hopefully, you can visit us again very soon and see for your self how we have improved and are continuing to improve everyday.

As for Ricky Ricardo, he's still around. He was never the Manager, he's our very dear bellboy, and a key part of our team. We can't wait for you to visit us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
0.5 km away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#21 of 78 in San Jose
391 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 78 in San Jose
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,389 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
985 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Vesuvio
Hotel Vesuvio
#49 of 78 in San Jose
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morazan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morazan Hotel & Casino

Address: 1st Avenue & 7th Street | 75 meters South from the Morazán Park kiosc, San José, Costa Rica, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: €47 - €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morazan Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Jose, Costa Rica's capital city, is the ever–growing center of the country's urban lifestyle, and Morazan Hotel & Casino is right at the heart of it all. Whether you're looking to visit the city's landmarks, such as the National Theatre, learn about Costa Rican art, culture or history in one of our many museums, including the National and Jade Museums filled with wondrous pieces of aboriginal heritage, partake on business activities in one of the thousands of companies and institutions allocated in San Jose, enjoy the local and international gastronomy or simply have a good time making part of the city's nightlife, this is the place to be. At Morazan you don't stay with strangers, you visit friends, and we are always happy to do anything in our reach to make sure you have a wonderful time at our hotel. Whether you're here for a vacation, just spending one night or simply to enjoy a meal at Tropical Sport Bar & Restaurant, there will always be a smile waiting for you. 20 flat screen TVs and premium satellite cable let you enjoy all the major sports events at our Sport Bar & Restaurant, from the thrill of the Super Bowl to the adrenaline of a UFC fight, our delicious menu is the perfect companion for a perfect evening. Are you feeling lucky? Casino Tropical on our main floor is open 24/7 to let you test your luck in our variety of slot machines and card games, so you can win big without ever even leaving the building. With the friendliest staff in San Jose and one of the best menus for a casino of its class, the biggest risk you take is wanting to move in with us permanently. Contact us to learn more about our personalized services for groups or businesses, such as special meal plans, a fully equipped conference room, an upcoming business center and much more. We can't wait for you to visit us, so make your reservation now! Morazan. More than a client, a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Morazan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Casino Costa Rica Morazan
Morazan Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing