We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$61
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$105
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
US$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripOn Open House(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
9
18
28
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
18
28
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish channelsflat screenfree breakfast isbar restaurantstandard roommuseum
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Clean rooms all remolded friendly staff. Price to fit your budget. Have stayed there many times Restaurant on second floor has free Breakfast for guest. Good breakfast and not to expensive if your not staying at the Hotel. As for smoking in the room years ago i'm sure I enjoyed a cigar in my room. Smoking Laws in Costa Rica have changed but a cigar and Cigarettes can be enjoyed every evening next door at the Night Club Key largo.

Room Tip: Noise is a problem in the front rooms after 6 AM M-F
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank patf2swa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorazanCM, Community Manager at Morazan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you very much for your message and preference! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will have you visiting us again very soon. Actually, as you say, smoking laws in Costa Rica have changed in recent years, therefor it is illegal to smoke in public spaces such as hotels. Nevertheless, you can always come down to our main entrance and have a smoke out there. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

When my friend cancelled on me for our Costa Rica trip I changed plans and booked a room with Hotel Morazon due to its location. It borders Morazon Park and is one block from shopping and restaurants on Central Avenue. It is also a short walk to casinos and night clubs.

I booked a junior suite which was quite spacious. It also had a balcony overlooking the street. The TV, fridge and closet space were adequate. There were numerous chairs, but not a comfortable spot in the room. The shower was barely functional. Noise from the street was loud and only stopped between 3 and 5 a.m. The hotel is in need of a major upgrade.

The staff was courteous and helpful. The 2nd floor restaurant was not too bad and was fun when the DJ was there. The breakfast that came with the room was OK.

I would only recommend for travelers who want to be close to the dance clubs and nightlife. Book a smaller room. The larger rooms are not worth additional price.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank alhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorazanCM, Community Manager at Morazan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hello, and thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to improve our service. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us to the level that you expected. Fortunately, we can now inform you that we have listened to all our past visitors' suggestions and are currently undergowing serious renovations to our infraestructure and customer service guidelines, so that we can guarantee a pleasurable stay for all guests at any time. Breakfast is also being upgraded with a few more options and strict quality inspection.

The one thing we cannot account for is the noise. Sadly, being at the heart of city life comes with its disadvantages, and this is one. The city can get a bit loud sometimes, but whenever this happens we are happy to try and move you to a quieter room. Hopefully we will be honored with your visit again soon, so that you can see for yourself how our changes are coming up and give us your updated feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I stayed in one of the Jr Suites for a few night in February and early March. The roomed seemed quieter than usual. I didn't notice noise from the Key Largo complex in this room. There is still plenty of street noise. They are upgrading some of their old window unit AC's. The one in my room was quiet and cooled the room. They have done something with their hot water systems. This hotel used to have dangerously hot water in the showers. Now it feels like they have on demand heaters and you need to run the water at half open to get warm water. Otherwise things are pretty much the same. Cleaning ladies are nice, staff is friendly. If they get all the AC upgraded it will be a big plus for me.

Room Tip: If you get a balcony make sure the door to the balcony doesn't lock when you close it before you use the balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorazanCM, Community Manager at Morazan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you very much for your message! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. I believe you will be glad to hear we are currently undergoing even more renovations, this time to both our infraestructures and customer service policies so that we can guarantee complete satisfaction to all the guests who visit us, and this does include renovating all of our A/C units and television sets, as well as renewing and giving due maintenance to our furnishings and beds. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again very soon to see for yourself all of our changes and give us another update on your opinion of our hotel. We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Location - excellent for daytime shopping. Food and staff excellent! Now for the bad stuff--we stayed for 2 weeks and showered in a slow steady stream of cool water-- a bill of $50.00 was presented to us when we checked out for using the telephone for local calls--the lighting, especially in the bathroom, is nearly none and it is impossible to apply makeup or comb your hair and lighting in bed area is not much better. Also curtains need to be replaced--to the owners--I am sure the manager, Ricky Ricardo, has complained about this many times and it might be wise to listen!

Room Tip: Restaurant had good food and excellent servers
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sallyswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorazanCM, Community Manager at Morazan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sorry to hear you encountered so many inconveniences with your stay. Fortunately I can tell you that in the last year, and especially during the last couple of months, we have been undergoing serious renovations to our infraestructure and customer service policies to guarantee that all of our guests find complete satisfaction while visiting us. Alas! Even the curtains have been replaced! We apologize for the problems you mention. There has been a full change of management in the past year and we are doing all we can now to hear and put into action the changes our friends and customers suggest. So hopefully, you can visit us again very soon and see for your self how we have improved and are continuing to improve everyday.

As for Ricky Ricardo, he's still around. He was never the Manager, he's our very dear bellboy, and a key part of our team. We can't wait for you to visit us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

The rooms are decent, clean, and cozy. The location is perfect, food in the restaurant is wonderful. The casino is fun and always jumping. The staff is great and always helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tremaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorazanCM, Community Manager at Morazan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you very much for your comments! We greatly appreciate your feedback. You will be happy to know that since your visit to our hotel, we have been undergoing renovations to our rooms so that we can improve our service everyday. We are currently in the process of redesigning the interiors, so that they are cozier and more modern. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again very soon to tell us what you think of these changes. Thanks for being part of our Morazán family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews