We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$64
US$49
View deal
SAVE US$15
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.comUS$51
Expedia.comUS$49
HurbUS$64
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
69
104
93
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
104
93
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool minutes walk away nice hotel no elevator perfect location jade museum quiet at night walking distance downtown artisanal avenida mercado
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is small and when you try to take a taxi to it the taxi drivers are likely to take you to the much bigger colonial centre. It's right in the centre of town so it's in reach of all the main sites in the city. The staff are friendly and helpful and our room as well as the hotel was clean and fresh. It has a small pool but not big enough for swimming. We had a nice lunch there.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por dejarnos sus lindos comentarios.
Nos motivan a seguir trabajando y dando nuestro mayor esfuerzo.
Con respecto a la piscina, efectivamente es pequeña, pero es un extra en la ciudad, pues casi ningún hotel tiene esta opción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

I will make a quick list of Pros/Cons but before that I have to note that the hotel is smaller than the pictures make it seem like. The breakfast is good and the café is cozy, the swimming pool is depressing, and the views are non-existent. The hotels best strength is it's location, only 2 city blocks from the Jade Museum. Bye far it's worst weakness is it offers no parking, forcing you to park your car 1 to 3 CITY BLOCKS AWAY at a rate of $20 a night!

Pros:
-Great Location (Close to tourist areas and many restaurants)
-Nice Bathroom
-Good Breakfast
-Café
-Secure access
-Good rates
-Wi Fi included

Cons:
-No Parking (Adds additional $20 a night to cost AND parking is far away)
-No A/C
-No views from hotel (Giant wall with barbed wire blocks your view from all the rooms)
-Swimming Pool is very small
-Hard to find (Does not have big signs that say the name of the hotel)
-No elevator

Room tip: Factor in an extra $20 to your stay if you are renting a vehicle.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_FamilyGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Thank you for leaving us your review.
We are sorry that you have several inconveniences. We do have A/C in some rooms, you just have to ask for it; we don't have in every room because we have a sustanibility policy that tries to reduce unnecesary electrical waste, and also, because San José is a city with a mild temperature all around the year.
The parking is in the same block, and the cost is US$14... I am not sure what happened in your case.
We do have a sign outside, but are planning on putting some others for a better way to find us.

Since we are in the city it is difficult to have great views (and also a big pool, ours is for refreshment).

On the other hand, we are happy you find some pros even all the rest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2020

I gave the hotel 4 stars because of the location and the service. It is walking distance to the theatre, the market, Chinatown, and many other places. It is also across the street from the fabulous La Esquina restaurant. The woman at the front desk was extremely helpful. She made a reservation for us at the restaurant, got us a taxi to the airport, and answered many questions we had. The rooms are small and there's no a/c, and the bathroom had a leak from the toilet. The chicken sandwich at lunch was good, but we didn't eat care for the breakfast. For one night it's a good place to stay, and the price is cheap.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nancyandleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Thank you so much for your review. It helps us to improve our services and motivates us.
We are going to check about the leak. About the A/C, San José has a mild weather, and also we have a sustanaibility policy so we try not to use A/C; but all of our rooms have overhead fan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2020 via mobile

Very well locates and friendly staff.
Cute patio with a very small pool. We enjoy the location next to downtown, restaurants and museum
Water for the showers could have been warmer as the temperature outside was relatively cold

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank AgnesBlanche2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2020
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por dejarnos su calificación.
Es un placer saber que tuvo una buena experiencia mientras se hospedó con nosotros, y seguiremos trabajando para mejorar cada aspecto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2019

We absolutely loved this cute and affordable little hotel! The location of the hotel is walking distance to the city’s museums and many good restaurants. It is beautiful inside and out. We loved our suite! The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious and the two little balconies in our room were so charming. The hotel staff were very kind and welcoming and the free breakfast buffet was delicious! would definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning to visit San Jose.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KTlovesthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Thank you so much for your review. It really motivate us to give our best and we keep working to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews