We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$134
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$104
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$85
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santo Tomas(San Jose)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripOn Open House(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
49
103
138
119
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
103
138
119
161
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Watch your credit cards and belongings these folks are about as slick as a whorehouse as they come. Made reservations, showed up they denied having the reservation and then they charged my CC for the night. In addition they are rude, and the hotel itself is a dump,

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

I ended up staying at Pangea one night in July, and then one night in August and both were quite pleasant experiences.

The rooms are nice and spacious, we weren't crammed in like sardines. The rooms also have fans which work very well and keep the room cool, although they may be a bit loud for some, I like the white noise when sleeping. The food from the bar was pretty good! Didn't find it overly expensive as you can't compare it to cheaper street food. They have vegetarian/vegan options as well (burritos, fajitas, etc). Overall it was quite an enjoyable stay at Hostel Pangea!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Staff wasn't the best. They don't go the extra mile whatsoever but that wasn't a huge deal.
The bar was a nice place to chill with other backpackers. The pool was a perk too! The rooms are average, about what you'd expect for a hostel.

Good common areas for backpackers to meet and hang out.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Shayna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

After being picked up at the airport we enjoyed a warm welcoming at Hostel Pangea. We like the concept with the pool, bar, terrace,.. But the drinks and food were overpriced being a youth/budget hostel. We went out to see San José which wasn't a great city to visit. Anyway the dorms were okay and good to stay a night over when flying into or out San José. (Showers were great!)

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Emmanuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

This was by far the worst place we stayed during our 3-month trip in Central America. Dirty rooms, BEDBUGS and incredibly rude staff. We left this hostel in the evening and they refused to give us any refund. For the bedbugs, they said we just had to use mosquito repellent... Conclusion: don't go here!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank flamkepennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews