We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Study abroad”
Review of Stolas Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stolas Hostel
Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile

Stolas hostel is a really nice place to stay for a long time. In my case I came to Costa Rica to study for 8 months and friend of mine told me about Stolas and I spoke with the owners. Once I got there I like a lot that Stolas actually is a house...I liked my room, the house is always clean, the breakfast, wifi, laundry, and services are included.
NV

Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
Thank Nimrha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2015

We only stayed in San Jose for 1 night, so we were just looking for a hostel that was easy to get to, and was a good price. Stolas Hostel fit these criteria. We stayed in a private room. The guys (owners?) were friendly and spoke good english. They made us pancakes for breakfast in the morning. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwilliams37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014

I lived in stolas for 4,5 months and I really liked it. The hostel is located in the perfect place in one of the better neighborhoods of san jose. The hostel has all the luxuries you need and the guys who run it are cool and helpful people. I had a really good stay there and definitely going to return on day!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
Thank Wander223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014

I stayed at Stolas for two weeks or so last summer and I´d say they have everything I need when I travel and then some more. Nice clean place, nice dorms with lockers, pretty comfy beds (as comfy as you get for the 12-16$ a night you pay. They have a kitchen, tv with netflix, playstation and such if you´re into that on a rainy weekday. There are supermarkets within a 500 meter radius and a couple of "Blubs" and bars as well.
The owners arranged a trip to Drake Bay which I had the pleasure of joining in on just for the price of the gas costs. I also went out with the owners a few times and they are pretty cool guys, young who just want to have fun BUT they always make sure everyone is safe etc.

All in all, if I´d go to CR and San José again I would stay there again for sure.

Happy travels!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank AChrisO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2014

I had been there a few times. Really cool place, nice people and has a good location in SJ specially if you want to move in the central area, or go downtown looking for a bus station.
I also like their t-shirts.


:P

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Artamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
3.2 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,533 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 78 in San Jose
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 km away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#54 of 78 in San Jose
513 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stolas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stolas Hostel

Address: Mts North From la Sede Lechera. 300 | Av 14, 35th Street., San Jose 10105, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 82 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: €10 - €25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stolas is a new hostel and rooming house located in Los Yoses, San Jose, Costa Rica. Conveniently located in the city, Stolas is equipped to provide every service and amenity required by backpackers and tourists visiting Costa Rica; the ideal hostel for those who seek the perfect combination between rest and leisure.The hostel’s size makes it easy for our staff to personally tend to your needs; its owners, three young Costa Rican entrepreneurs, can guarantee that you will not forget your stay in San Jose.Stolas is located in Los Yoses, a safe and calm neighborhood just outside downtown San Jose. Once mainly residential, in the past years a lot of people have left Los Yoses, giving way to an array of business such as law firms, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stolas Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing