We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

L'ancora da Ciro & Tony
Ranked #24 of 851 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 October 2018

We have visited this restaurant for lunch. The service was a bit too pushy wanting us to order as many things as possible and very slow when we were waiting to get our bill and pay. The food was tasty, but very very overpriced if we take in consideration the quantity. One of the staff has grabbed our menus from us very quickly after we have ordered, as he did not want us to spend too much time checking the prices. In the end, they have tried to overcharge us for around 2000 colons, but we have noticed that the prices on the bills do not match the prices displayed on the menu and we have been given a new receipt. It took ages until they charged us, but at least we paid for what we ate only.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nada P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We were told this restaurant was amazing and we wanted to go somewhere very nice with great food as this was our last night in Costa Rica! We got dressed up and this wasn’t that ind of place at all I could have worn jeans and not been out of place! The food was very bland and mediocre to say the least lacked seasoning we left the leftovers in the hotel fridge and we are not ones to waste food! Won’t be ordering Italian in Costa Rica again lol

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank kayejasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

L'Ancora is a very good Italian Restaurant located in the trendy neighborhood Escalante in San José...for me one of the best Italian restaurant in town.
Probably the love of the owner preparing your order or taking care of the details in the kitchen elevates the taste of the food to another level. I have not seen Ciro lately but Tony either brings you the plate or asks your opinion about the food. There is nothing better when the owner is on top of the business or probably is me being old fashion that I like the taste of old business style.
You can see the chef wearing an embroidered chef hat (name on) and his trousers PJ style
We have being visiting the restaurant several times and the food and attention never disappoint us.I strongly recommend this restaurant and maybe you should call to book a table before heading there.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

The front desk at the hotel Cocoon where we stayed booked for us this restaurant. That was fantastic, great Italian food cooked from the Italian owner Ciro. Good wines and excellent service. We will go back next time when we visit Costa Rica.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jerjiradel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I were looking forward to this meal in the Barrio Escalante neighborhood we heard so much about. We had the beef carpaccio which was good, no capers though... Caesar salad was ok but you could taste the mayonnaise. For our entrees we had the veal piccata (lemon and capers) and sea bass pasta with vegetables. The veal was dry and the sauce tasted like chicken stock... they don’t have lemon, only lime when we asked so that explained a bit. The pasta was ok, I liked that much better but over disappointed as we were enjoying our honeymoon with a nice Barolo we brought from our trip to Italy last year. Our server was fantastic though, we don’t speak Spanish well but he was very nice and patient, especially as busy as the place was. Perhaps we just ordered the wrong dishes...

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank chrissysutphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'ancora da Ciro & Tony also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to L'ancora da Ciro & Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing