We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
255
132
55
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
132
55
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica continental breakfast ceiling fan center of san jose home away from home air conditioning downtown area felt safe airport barrio earplugs country
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Dunn Inn is a 15 minute walk from the National Theatre, not too much to do near the hotel but not far from the main attractions. Pleasant hotel, good size rooms, safe in room, good breakfast and great selection of food in the restaurant in the hotel. Good start to stay in Costa Rica

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerDWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your place to stay in San Jose and for taking the time to share your nice comments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Easy walk to the shops and market places (but up hill).
Decent and fairly quick, free wifi
Very nice restaurant attached to hotel - waiters and waitresses in there definitely need some happy pills though as service with a smile was non existent and they were very pushy and stroppy at all times, for breakfast, lunch or dinner which was a shame
air conditioning and a fan in room is appreciated
black out curtains, blinds and nets - this was greatly appreciated also as it enables everyone to cater to their sleep/privacy needs
bathroom is fairly large with very basic toiletries
room is clean enough, beds are comfy
receptionists were helpful, i even had some letters to post which they ran to the shop for me and just requested the money with the receipt after which was greatly appreciated

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the restaurant The restaurant is attached to the hotel but has a different administration. I'll make sure to share your comments with their administration. Feed back from clients helps to improve the services we offer to our mutual clients. We hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Great hotel , easy walk to the centre. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and any request was dealt with immediately. Rooms were spotlessly clean and well appointed and we even had hot water from the basin taps!

Room tip: We had room 2 which had 2 separate bedrooms each with a TV, even had a spa bath.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank geraldinebuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your place to stay in San Jose. We are glad to find out you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your nice comments with our staff. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in your next visit to Costa Rica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Walking distance from the town centre, good bed, decent shower, friendly staff. Very noisy though, bring earplugs. Restaurant next door serves a good breakfast. Airconditioning and ceiling fan in the room, as well as soaps etc. WiFi works well (free).

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank valinholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your place to stay in San Jose. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for your feed back, it helps us to improve the services we offer to our clients

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here last week for 2 nights as a solo female. My first room was simple, however it did come with a split system, ceiling fan, fridge, hairdryer and safe which is more than I expected. The room was relatively clean upon check in.
I found it easy walk into town, however not a place I would walk around at night by myself and the staff advised against it after 8pm.
The second room I stayed in, was part of the family room on the top level. (Moved in with another lady to start a G Adventure tour). The room was spacious, larger beds and nicer fittings.
I would consider staying here again if I came back to San Jose.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SparklePalmblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your place to stay in San Jose. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be honored to welcome you back in your next visit to San Jose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews